Blogtober 6th: My favourite weekday

What is your favourite week day? Mine is Tuesday.

Why do I love Tuesdays the best?

* The girls are off to daycare for the day, which means either a day at work (relief teaching) for me, or a study day. Yay! I can catch up on study, make a cooked lunch that I don’t have to share with anyone (greedy, eh!), and not have to worry about changing nappies, enforcing nap times, or playing card games with eager wee people.

* No after school music lessons or sports, so once the girls are home it’s a leisurely time together. If I’m organised, dinner will be in the crockpot and we can just play and hang out together.

and…

Knitting Night!

The last few months have really cemented our knitting night habit, and I miss it horribly if I don’t get to go. We have anywhere from 6 to over a dozen knitters most nights, all young ones too – the youngest in her early 20’s and, well, I fear I might be the oldest!

It’s so awesome to see what new things they are knitting, yarn purchases, FOs, and patterns that they are contemplating.

My little sock habit appears to be catching – there were three of us knitting socks tonight.  I had no sooner finished the last pair than I hankered to cast on the next… I’m knitting something simple this time.  Last year when my FIL was in the states on yarn mule duty I got a couple of single skeins of Lorna’s Laces sock yarn, which are only 50g each. I came across this pattern for a pair of socks using just a single skein and scraps and have intended to knit these ever since – but I didn’t have the right colour scraps. However, the yarn left over from my Multnomah shawlette is the perfect contrast, so they seemed like the right project for the moment – a simple sock in a delicious yarn. 

The colourway is called Lakeview.  Here it is in the hank:

I think it is knitting up really prettily too.

Picture 3187

Good company, good yarn, good knitting, what more can a girl ask from an evening? (Oh yes, amazing food too – Sam’s Self-saucing Caramel pudding with pears and her fruit salad were fantastic, thanks hon!)

10 Responses to “Blogtober 6th: My favourite weekday”


  1. 1 Caffeine Girl October 7, 2009 at 2:26 am

    Your knit nights sound perfect. I would love to find a group that is stable and has a variety of ages.

  2. 2 Lina October 7, 2009 at 3:26 am

    What a wonderful night! The socks will be lovely. 🙂

  3. 3 Jo October 7, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Knitting nights are fantastic aren’t they. I have one here every Thursday. There are only four of us but they are so much fun.

    Love that sock yarn, very pretty

  4. 4 Delwyn October 7, 2009 at 7:09 am

    I’m loving Blogtober. So interesting to get a bigger glimpse of your life Sis.

  5. 5 Hannah October 7, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Tuesday is my favourite day too 🙂 and i was going to blog about our knitting night for my post today hehehehe, might leave it to next week and take some photos! 🙂

    i cant WAIT to cast on my first socks so will be knitting my little heart out today to finish my shawl

    x

  6. 6 Alia October 7, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Love the colours, so pretty!

    I am gutted I had to miss our (upper hutt) knitting night last night.

    I have some gorgeous sock yarn here just waiting for my knitting skill to improve a little more, can’t wait!

  7. 7 Sam October 7, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Yeah i have to say i’m hoping that DH wont be working late every tuesday 😦

    Thanks again for making the treck out last night 🙂

  8. 8 chevgirl October 7, 2009 at 9:27 am

    I miss going to knitting nights since moving away from Upper Hutt. I knit solo now!!! LOL.

    I have no idea what day I like best may Saturday as Dean is home to help out and I can knit more!

  9. 9 sparedes October 7, 2009 at 10:06 am

    I love knitting sock. Not sockS, just sock. I’ve got 2nd sock syndrome…bad.


  1. 1 Blogtober 20th: Bliss « Shortly Stitches Trackback on October 20, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 340,375 hits

