Blogtober 7th: My reading list

Picture 3188

You might find it difficult to believe that in addition to knitting obsessively, I’m also an obsessive reader.  One of my favourite childhood memories is of going to the library and filling our bags with as many books as we were allowed (I think it was either 20 or 30) and then getting to swap with my sister for her selection before we returned them. I am fairly sure that we must have exhausted the non-fiction section of our local library for each age group long before we were old enough to move to the next one.  Now our family go either weekly or fortnightly on Sundays to the local library for our fix. Well, Miss 1 goes to boogie in the cool lights and give us both the run-around. I optimistically browse the pathetic knitting selection (yes, those 1980s patterns *might* come back in style, but no, I am not going to knit them) before I hit the non-fiction section.

And my reading taste? Wide!  I love a good mystery, love to read a laugh out loud funny novel, adore literary fiction, and have read more Chick Lit than I’d admit to. Especially since the girls’ arrival, when reading time has been relegated to bedtime and while feeding.

Oh, and study.  The two University papers I am studying have massive reading lists of mostly dense text. One is on literary theorists, and the second is on trauma, memory and haunting in literature, mostly focusing on PTSD, theories of memory (think Freud, Lacan et al) traumatic events and grief. So, when it comes to personal reading, I like the lite version at the moment!

So, on Saturday when I saw a new Marian Keyes novel had been released, I couldn’t resist.  Keyes, while tackling serious social issues, writes with a light touch, giving the audience a sympathy with her characters and the situations they find themselves in. That said, Brightest Star in the Sky is not her best work, in my opinion (I’m stuck now trying to think which I think *is* her best). Usually she has characters from previous novels appear in her new one – they are somehow linked. This wasn’t the case with this one. And, without giving too much away about the plot of this novel, the mystical element isn’t one I appreciate much in my non-fiction. I prefer realistic plot devices- the very thing that stopped me reading Diana Gabaldon for a long time (of course, her new novel is on my to-buy list too). So, that was an instant turn-off for me. However, this is still a good read. You find yourself beginning to care for the cast of characters as you learn more about them and their histories that have brought them to this point in their lives.

So, I think this is one to borrow from the library rather than one to buy for yourself. It certainly helped me to while away some rainy days.

6 Responses to “Blogtober 7th: My reading list”


  1. 1 Judy October 8, 2009 at 5:32 am

    I’ve just worked out how to read and knit! Excellent multitasking… Travis is enjoying his first CS Lewis novel – we’re starting the Narnia series with The Magicians Nephew.

  2. 2 trashalou October 8, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I would proffer ‘Rachel’s Holiday’ as her best. Can you believe it took me about four books in before I realised they were sisters?

    • 3 shortly24 October 8, 2009 at 1:35 pm

      Oh yes, that’s a good one 🙂

      I think it’s easy to miss unless you read them close together and/or you don’t read much. My constant non-fiction diet means sometimes the details get forgotten.

      Ever sat down to read a book, get half way through and think you can guess the plot, then finally click you’ve read it before?

  3. 4 Lynlee October 8, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Hi Sheryl, I’ve been enjoying your speels – nice to see some pics of the girls too. Yay for reading – we always get up to our limit at the library too although we are constantly scared our cards will be rejected due to our large fines! One I’m reading at the mo is ‘Two Lives’ by Vikram Singh – not much of a fan of his ‘A suitable boy’ but this one is much better.

  4. 5 trashalou October 9, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    So glad to hear someone else not love ‘a suitable boy’ – it has been sitting on my bookshelf for years half read.

  5. 6 Susan L (lily40au) October 17, 2009 at 12:24 am

    I’m a compulsive reader too … I’ve got two on the go at the moment and I’m off to the library on Monday for more.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

