Blogtober 10th: The colour of love

Picture 2093

Each of my daughters have a special blanket that was crocheted for them by my mother. To say that they are their favourite things would probably be understating the case quite considerably.

Picture 3058

Miss 3 has taken her blankie “Beddy” with her pretty much everywhere since she was One. It was toilet trained at the same time as her, likes pretty well everything she likes, and looks especially attractive with a sparkly purple clip it its ‘hair’.  

Picture 3053

 Needless to say, the once attractive white colour is now more grey than anything else. Therefore I found it hilarious when I got a message from a friend a number of months ago now asking me about Miss 3’s ‘beautiful mushroom coloured blanket’ and whether I had made it, and if I had the pattern. I nearly choked from laughter. Mushroom colour? Hehe.

When I was pregnant with Miss 1, I asked Mum if she could make another blanket for the new baby. It was so cute that when Nana visited with it, when it was only a strip maybe 15cm wide, she knew exactly what it was, and kept going over to give it a bit of love. Nana had to hide it when she wasn’t working on it, in case it got too much love and suffered an accident.  As with Miss 3, it was used as a blanket from birth and was never far away.

R11s

 By very early on, it was clear that she, too, was very attached to her blanket.  As early as 6 months I saw her patting it, and when she started to walk, it wasn’t unusual to see her position it between her legs before she took off, just so it could go along with her. Funnily enough, its once white colour is now turning the same colour as her sister’s blanket.

I think it’s best described as the colour of love.

PS: actual knitting content follows tomorrow, I promise!

10 Responses to “Blogtober 10th: The colour of love”


  1. 1 Virginia October 10, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Very sweet.

    I had two blankets that my mother made for me that I loved as a child (and still have).

    My daughter has shown absolutely no interest in any of the blankets that people have made for her. She could care less. Ah well.

  2. 2 sara October 11, 2009 at 12:56 am

    How sweet. I may have to start a blanket for a future grandchild. Not that that’s going to happen anytime soon, but I’m sort of a slow worker.

  3. 3 Kate October 11, 2009 at 3:13 am

    Your children are beautiful!! My god, they are amazing! I love the mushroom colored thing, too. Just go with it- let it age gracefully!

  4. 4 chevgirl October 11, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Ohhh love the story. Lovelt connection they have with the blankie and Nana. I have seen the love they give the blankies. Miss $ has never been attached to anything but her thumb but Miss 1 is in love with her girafffy toy – so cute.

  5. 6 Kelly October 11, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Aren’t those heirloom balnkies such magic? The ones in our family are knit jobbies, but I really like the idea of a crocheted one – just seems that little more resilient 🙂

  6. 7 PJS October 11, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    that’s just so precious that your daughter positioned the blanket between her legs to walk,… lovely! my mum doesnt knit but my great aunt does, she knitted a blanket for me when i was born, and when i was pregnant with my daughter she knitted the same one for my daughter, it’s the last one she will ever make too as she’s too unwell now to do another.

  7. 9 ikkinlala October 12, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    This is a great way to think of that colour.

  8. 10 Viv October 12, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    What a gorgeous story about the blankies!!! Very sweet.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

