Blogtober 15th: More Rainy Day Activities

Spring? Maybe.  But we today the weather here reached new lows. The airport was closed today due to low lying fog.  We have a heavy rain warning for overnight tonight.  Not a lot of outdoor play going on here at the moment and I have been trying to think about what indoor activities could keep wee minds and hands occupied. 

Yesterday I found a couple of felt boards in the cupboard which have only been played with by Miss 3 a couple of times.  She seemed happy to potter around with them yesterday, but they didn’t really capture her imagination too much.  Why? They were bought for DS12 when he was a lad, and the themes of the accessories that came with them were zoo animals (quite acceptable) and dinosaurs (not really something Miss 3 has much interest in).  I remember spending many happy hours playing with “Fuzzy Felts” during my childhood, so I wanted to try to make the most of these boards.

So this morning I sat down with a big bag of felt and felt scraps and cut out a few more bits and pieces for her.  When she headed to bed, I was meant to write my research essay, but I allowed myself a quick 15 or so minutes to cut out some more things uninterrupted. 

Here are some of our additions.

001

Some happy trees, a house and sunshine.  The butterfly was from the original set. 

002

The original sets had two people in them, with wigs and clothing.  I added three more people and a selection of eyes, hair, and heaps of clothes for dressing up.  The wee tree is an ‘apple’ tree, and the mountains were from the original set.  Miss 3 was reminded of the ‘gooey geyser’ from Dora, so I made a gooey geyser add-on kit. She was rather pleased!

I have heaps more ideas, so if the rain lasts and procrastination strikes again, I may have more to show you.

And in knitting news, I have more completely weather-inappropriate knitting happening here.  Ha! Here’s a teaser – will block and add buttons and model tomorrow 🙂

003

7 Responses to “Blogtober 15th: More Rainy Day Activities”


  1. 1 Caffeine Girl October 16, 2009 at 6:34 am

    What a good mom! I love your felt stuff.

  2. 2 Jo October 16, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Love the felt stuff, a friend of mine has a big board which her kids love. I want to make Miss C one and now am flooded with ideas. Your knitting looks interesting.

  3. 3 Hannah October 16, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Your a super creative mumma! love the felt board add-ons 🙂

    And i recognise what your knitting and cant belive your finished already!

  4. 4 Virginia October 16, 2009 at 11:55 am

    The mystery knitted item is beautiful!

    I wish it was starting to be spring here…

  5. 5 Kelly October 16, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Looks like a Tropical Lily to me! Hopefully the weather clears so it can get some use 🙂

  6. 6 nova October 16, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    aww sweet! lol i uncovered my old fuzzy felt safari recently, which has become a very popular car activity!

  7. 7 mazzygirls October 16, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Felt board – cool! I remember having one of these when I was a kid, I wonder if I could make one for the girls. This weather sucks, doesn’t it?
    Can’t wait to see the TL project too, I’m a quarter of the way through mine and my mojo has fled…hopefully seeing yours will bring it back!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 341,004 hits

