Blogtober 18th: Time to cast on

I love finishing knitting projects. Especially when you haven’t committed yourself to knitting anything particular next.

I love the possibilities that empty needles and a stash of yarn presents.  I enjoy thinking about what I could knit next. About how much time it might take, how the yarn might look, which needles I will use. Hours spent surfing Ravelry looking at other people’s FO’s is inspirational and reading their pattern notes is something I find so  useful.  Sometimes they act as timely warnings against whatever I am planning to knit, and I am grateful that I can learn from their mistakes.  Knitting does take time, and it is so much more enjoyable when you don’t have to end up frogging it!

And so, on the weekend I found it was time to cast on something new.  What should it be?  And, why limit yourself to just one?

Yes, so I have to admit that I cast on for two new projects.

#1 is an experiment. I am working on another tunic, this time not someone else’s pattern, but my own. After a fashion.

I’ve measured up a favourite top (a sewn one that has seen better days) and am attempting to recreate it in yarn.  I’ll keep you informed on progress when there is news.  Currently there isn’t enough to try on, and it might all end up on the frog pile yet.  I’m kind of working it out as I go. So, watch this space!

#2 something socky! Well, it is Socktoberfest after all!

004

I decided to cast on with the lovely Citrus Sunset Vintage Purls sock yarn I got recently. I hadn’t long been knitting with it when Miss 3 sidled up to me, asking what I was knitting and who it was for.  The sneaky wee thing has her greedy eye on my yarn! So I’ve promised her a pair out of the leftovers. After all, for all her rejection of knitted tops etc, she sure has a soft spot for handknit socks. Clever girl.

The pattern I chose is from my lovely Socks from the Toe Up book by Wendy D Johnson.  It is a lace pattern called Ribbed Ribbons socks. I already did a review of this book when I got it, but I have to emphasise again how much I am enjoying it.  She has classed the pattern as ‘intermediate’, and notes that really all this means is a bit more following of the chart.  So far I would definitely agree. The chart is a 24 row repeat, but it follows an intuitive pattern that varies slighly, so you do need to keep the chart nearby. 

The yarn I am using is a bit more varied than the semi-solid in the pattern illustration but otherwise very similar colouring – she has chosen such lovely yarns in her book, it makes the ribbon pattern stand out beautifully.  And actually these look way better IRL than these pictures – maybe I should take some in natural light as they aren’t as contrast-y as they look.  This is just the second pattern I’m knitting from this book, and it’s been a delightful experience so far.

005

PS: FO for the day: less than 10% over the word limit, and it on its way.

003

8 Responses to “Blogtober 18th: Time to cast on”


  1. 1 Judy October 20, 2009 at 4:47 am

    I agree; that book is the bomb! I’m wearing my cables & lace socks today (it’s raining!). Your socks look like candy corn; perfect for Halloween.

  2. 2 Virginia October 20, 2009 at 4:50 am

    I really need to knit some socks!

    You are inspiring me to do so.

    You also inspired me to buy some yarn for a Multnomah, which I will be making as a gift for somebody.

  3. 3 Caffeine Girl October 20, 2009 at 6:28 am

    I love both your yarn and the pattern. As soon as I finish holiday knitting, I’m going to try toe-up — using that book.

  4. 4 Amybel October 20, 2009 at 7:09 am

    That orange is terrific. I can see why Miss 3 is hinting around about it!

  5. 5 Hannah October 20, 2009 at 8:37 am

    yay for getting your essay sent away!

    I did the heel and gusset and started the lace on my sock last night 🙂 first time using a chart!

    Cant wait to see your tunic 🙂

  6. 6 Lily October 20, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    I love the colours you’ve chosen for your socks. I don’t blame your daughter for eyeing them off. I’m also looking for a sock pattern to make a pair for my eldest daughter who’s living somewhere extremely cold at the moment … thanks for the info re that book.

  7. 7 Celeritas October 20, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Everytime I see toe up socks I like at the moment they are from that book, I really should buy it. Look beautiful in orange!

  8. 8 Sharonnz October 20, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Oh snap! I’m doing those too. But I know you’ll beat me as mine are in a mild hibernation;-)


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 341,564 hits

