Blogtober 23rd: When do you knit?

I had a message from one of my sisters this morning offering a bit of a leg-up to keep posting through Blogtober 🙂 She offered me a suggestion for a post. How could she tell I needed one?  Ooooh, and she offered to do a guest post too! Yay! Loves my beautiful sister, and know you will too 🙂

Annnnyway, she was wondering how I manage to fit knitting into my day. 

As you might know, I’ve got three lovely kidlets, two of whom are preschoolers. Plenty of small hands to get tangled in yarn 🙂  But actually, since the littlest one has mostly gotten over her yarn addiction, I am lucky that they all seem to leave the WIPs and yarn alone.  I know one of my friends has a wee man who likes to steal her working yarn, and I saw a huge tangly mess that was a skein of yarn a friend’s daughter had been ‘knitting’ with posted on her blog last week.

So how do I fit in knitting?

* first, I have children who wake up much too early in the day – so 1) get an early start

*secondly, I make sure that I always have some easy knitting around, so that when the kidlets are around I can pick it up and put it down easily.  I so love knitting in the round for this reason – and (most) sock knitting is great too.  so 2) use children as an excuse for multiple WIPs.

006

Case in point – I’ve put aside my tunic for a wee bit while my brain fog clears, and that only left my lace socks to work on, clearly too much work with the girls around, so I *had* to cast on for this cute wee dress.  The 1×1 ribbing is much less offensive when it picked up and put down over several days, rather than trying to do it all at once.

* thirdly – lead a guilt free existence. Yes, I knit while the kids are up and happy.  I knit while I read stories. Miss 3 is plenty old enough to hold her own books! There is no rule that says I have to do housework all day long, is there? 3) If everything gets done, no one will know how much time you spent knitting.

*fourthly, I knit everywhere! Yes, I take knitting with me to get-togethers (that’s right, isn’t it antenatal girls?), to friends houses, to Uni, in the car (but not if I’m driving). Well, actually I didn’t take it to the movies.  But if I am sitting down, with no needles in my hands, I have to confess to feeling a little restless.  So 4) Make your own opportunities to knit.

* finally, I always have my next project in the planning stage. Always an excuse to surf Ravelry, buy knitting magazines and stash yarn – you don’t have a lag between projects 5) Be obsessive.

My next project? Another one of these.

005

So that’s when I knit.  When do you fit knitting into your day?

11 Responses to “Blogtober 23rd: When do you knit?”


  1. 1 Mazzy October 23, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Never at the moment! But I think that has more to do with my two WIPs being hopelessly riddled with errors and repetitive frogging frustrating the heck out of me. I’ve just bought Bloom however, so might cast on for that soon and see if I can get the mojo going again.
    When I do get going, I mostly knit at night after the girls go to bed…and keep knitting into the wee hours of the morning. They are still at the tangle-wool stage, so none while they are around.

  2. 2 Susan L (lily40au) October 24, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Nice idea from your sister re post … and I love the obsessive idea. It definitely helps to be obsessive! LOL

  3. 3 PJS October 24, 2009 at 3:39 am

    I love this post, as a new mother learning the art of squeezing in the knitting I see a few points i could pick up for myself…. lol…

  4. 4 I October 24, 2009 at 5:09 am

    I NEVER thought about using my children as an excuse for more than one WIP at a time!! Love that.

  5. 5 Virginia October 24, 2009 at 6:14 am

    I knit on the subway to and from work, and on my lunch breaks during the work week. That’s usually a good three hours per day.

    At home, I also work on simple projects that I can put down without freaking out too much, so that I can interact with the husband and child.

    Weekends are much harder to find times to knit. But I usually manage to squeeze some time in during the evening hours.

  6. 6 Jo October 24, 2009 at 7:18 am

    If we have nothing planned for the day, I knit after breakfast while the little person is playing, I’ve actually been knitting quite a bit outside this week while the little person is playing in her new sandpit.

    I also knit nearly every night when I haven’t got a heap of sewing to be done.

  7. 7 Caffeine Girl October 24, 2009 at 8:53 am

    I am impressed that you knit with such little children around! My two are both in college (and out of the house) and I still have trouble finding as much time as I want. I do always carry a simple sock in my purse so I can knit in those little bits of otherwise lost time. I try to knit for an hour most evenings!

  8. 8 chevgirl October 24, 2009 at 8:56 am

    I knit when I can too. Mostly at night when both kids are asleep but also while the kindy girl is at kindy and her sister is napping. I do like to take it with me if going to the in laws for dinner and also car knitting when hubby is driving.

  9. 9 Sharonnz October 24, 2009 at 9:36 am

    When the kids are sitting up doing “table work” I grab my knitting and sit with them;-) When I have my knitting mojo I ALWAYS knit at night. I make sure I have a simple “eco light bulbs don’t provide enough light/need something easy while watching TV” project alongside something trickier for quiet moments during the daytime. I need to develop the habit of having an easy pair of socks on the go all the time in my handbag.

  10. 10 Joanne Foot October 24, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Knitting during lunch break at work … and at night if I’m not spinning. It’s a juggling act, but where there is the will to get it done … it does happen (just rather slowly in my case! LOL)

  11. 11 Lina October 25, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Nice post! I love that you can fit in knitting even with all the kiddos around. I knit pretty much when I can… usually in front of the TV. 😀


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 341,000 hits

