Blogtober 30th: Finally a FO!

001

It seems like I’ve been doing more blogging than knitting this month, but I have another completed pair of socks to celebrate Socktoberfest.  These are the Ribbed Ribbon Socks from Wendy Johnson’s lovely book Socks From the Toe Up. They were knit in a lovely limited edition colourway called Citrus Sunset by Vintage Purls. The colourway is a massive departure from my usual fare of purples, greens, blues and pinks, but they certainly make me smile I and I think I will enjoy these socks.002 

I really enjoyed knitting this pattern – the second one I have knit from this book, and like the first it was well written, free of errata, logical, and pleasing to knit.  I commented early on that the 24 row repeat wasn’t totally easy, but I was able to work without the chart except for the occasional reference for all of the second sock, so it certainly grows easier as you go.  They are only patterned on the front of the foot, so that speeds up proceedings for the leg too!

003

Months ago I commented that I had a new pair of sock-wearing shoes and I never managed to capture them on film. So, here they are with their pretty new companions.

007

10 Responses to “Blogtober 30th: Finally a FO!”


  1. 1 Kate Salisbury-Metcalfe October 30, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    They are just lovely Sheryl. I’m with you, I don’t normally go for oranges but that colour is just scrummy. They look very cool with the shoes too :-).

  2. 2 Joanne Foot October 31, 2009 at 12:09 am

    Lovely. Cool shoes too …. 🙂

  3. 3 accountantgrrl October 31, 2009 at 12:34 am

    What a pretty colorway!

    A friend of mine loaned me that book last night to see if it would be something I would interested.

    And I love your sock wearing shoes. Hmmmmm makes me want to get a pair myself. 🙂

  4. 4 Darcy October 31, 2009 at 2:53 am

    They are lovely:)Hugs Darcy

  5. 5 Kate October 31, 2009 at 3:55 am

    Great socks! I love that you have “sock-wearing shoes”! Something that a nonn-knitter would never understand. 😉 I love it!

    One more day of Blogtober! You must feel amazing!

  6. 6 Virginia October 31, 2009 at 6:16 am

    ok, the idea of having to buy new shoes to show off my socks REALLY makes me wanna knit some socks…

    Those are gorgeous!

    Also, I’m glad to hear that they are logical patterns. I’ve discovered that I really have an issue with illogical patterns and I can’t actually bring myself to finish knitting patterns that don’t make sense to me…

  7. 7 Hannah October 31, 2009 at 9:07 am

    they look awsome Sheryl 🙂

  8. 8 Sharonnz October 31, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Those are such a scrummy colourway!! They look great – I should really pick mine up today;-)

  9. 9 chevgirl October 31, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Well done! They look brilliant with your shoes. I have similar shoes from kumfs.

  10. 10 chair November 2, 2009 at 5:17 am

    Like them socks! Well done!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

