Blogtober 31st: It’s all about the garden

005

My post today could hardly be about anything other than our vege garden, because today has mostly been spent in it.  So, here’s our wee piece of productivity.

I am one lucky gardening girl. Three years ago my father spent a couple of days teaching my DH how to make vege garden boxes and helping to make this fabulous vegetable garden for us.  This wee fenced enclosure was the original vegetable garden and it is a fabulous spot – it has its own wee microclimate and is sheltered from the winds, so when other friends complain of decimated crops, I am spared.  It is, however, completely unproductive in winter, so it is largely bare, as you can see. 

I had a planting session about 4 weeks ago, but the nearly three weeks of rain we had immediately afterwards has ensured nothing is thriving yet.  Many seeds did not germinate, and seedlings are on a go-slow. We will be self-sufficient in lettuce from now on, and spinach – well, we could eat that every day for a month and still have plenty growing I think!

So, this morning we went on an expedition to get more seeds, seedlings and some plant food.  While the girls napped I finished off the weeding and digging over the ground, and then Miss 3 joined me to do the planting.

002small

Here she is planting some Roma Tomatoes. We have companion planted basil with them, I hope it likes this spot as we love basil! We also planted capsicum plants, cucumber, yellow and green zuchinni, more lettuce, red cabbage, green cabbage, celery, corn, three kinds of chinese cabbage,  broccoflower and one grafted tomato plant. I have discovered if I have too many tomatoes they end up getting blight, but if I grow one and stake it out well, it’s okay. I’m taking a risk on the Roma Tomatoes because I really like them – I’ve sown some cherry tomato seeds, but won’t worry if I have no success with them.  Miss 3 and I also planted some seeds, butter beans, eggplant, more cucumber, and some cape gooseberries.

All these join the lettuce, two kinds of beans, cauliflower, leeks, silverbeet, spinach, yams,  peas, parsley,  rhubarb and strawberries that are already in.  The other big change is that I have planted some berries this year too – a raspberry, loganberry and thornless blackberry.  I am hoping that they will be productive (I know they need time…) and have lots of babies so I can set up a separate berry garden. Or rather, I can impose on DH to make a new set of boxes for a berry garden.  A girl can but hope.

008

So there you have it. Today garden.  Tomorrow? Knitting I hope!

11 Responses to “Blogtober 31st: It’s all about the garden”


  1. 1 Kate Salisbury-Metcalfe October 31, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    That looks wonderful Sheryl. You have a lovely variety of produce planted. Let’s hope our Naki sunshine gets things moving!

  2. 2 Mazzy November 1, 2009 at 12:29 am

    It looks fantastic! The rain nailed our seeds as well, everything is growing very slowly here. Doesn’t stop me obsessively checking every day though! I love the variety you have growing in your garden.

  3. 3 Joanne Foot November 1, 2009 at 12:31 am

    The garden is looking great Sheryl. Isn’t it satisfying to get it all cleaned up and planted for the new season? 🙂

  4. 5 Libby November 1, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Looks great – I’ll be out in my vege garden today too.

  5. 6 Lisa November 1, 2009 at 11:04 am

    You are earth mother! I am in awe and jealous much of your lovely garden.

  6. 7 Hannah November 1, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    wow awsome stuff!

    hey pop over to my blog i have a surprise for you 😉

  7. 8 Katerina November 2, 2009 at 6:49 am

    love your garden – wish I had room for one – the next place we live, it’s on my “want/wish” list for where we choose to live.

  8. 9 hoaenz November 2, 2009 at 11:25 am

    looks great!

  9. 10 nova November 2, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    oh what a cool wee garden! snap with the winter deadness tho, i tend to plant mine out with compost/carbon crops before it gets too cold, then pretend it’s like that on purpose 😉

  10. 11 Tinylovely November 7, 2009 at 8:59 am

    What a wonderful vege garden and brilliant raised. mmmm berries they sound lovely, I hope our solitary raspberry produces more this year. You have just inspired me to get out in our vege garden, this has been a bit challenging this year as we have had our first child.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 341,584 hits

