FO: Tiger Socks

003

I promised Miss 3 the rest of my orange Vintage Purls sock yarn would become socks for her.  She was a little disappointed that it had to be striped with black to have enough though.  She has said she wants a pair that are “just orange” so my wee excursion into orange socks might have to be repeated some time in the future!

These toddler socks are knit toe up on magic loop, with a gusset heel. I am trying to work up a pattern to share with you, but have a few kinks to work out first – like these are about a centimetre too long. So will keep on it and let you know when I have an ultimate pattern, as these are sooo simple!

One of the ladies at knitting night was asking about stripes last night, so I promised I would show the jogs where I change colour on these socks.

007

The top sock (right) is where the change over happens, the bottom (left) is the other side of the round. You can see a small jog but not a significant one, in fact it’s almost comparable with where I change needles I think.  I just wrapped the new yarn a couple of times around the old one, until it was fairly tight, and kept going with the new colour. There might be a technical name for this (complete fool’s method?) or not, I’m not sure. But my attempts at jogless jogs resulted in more of a jog so I stuck with this improvised method.

You can see the gusset heel here too – no heel flap, just gusset increases and then short rows. Very quick and satisfying and has resulted in a fairly good fit.

Now I am left contemplating the wee nugget of orange yarn and wondering if I have enough left to make a pair of tiger ears and a tail?

7 Responses to “FO: Tiger Socks”


  1. 1 Sam November 4, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    they are very cute!

  2. 2 neak November 4, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    awwww those are too cute!

  3. 3 accountantgrrl November 5, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Cute. They remind me of the Winnie the Pooh character, Tigger.

  4. 4 Judy November 5, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Funny how specific they can be, huh. Nice stripey socks, Mum, but I wanted ORANGE! The socks are completely adorable.

  5. 5 'Marmitey' November 5, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I’m making orange socks at the moment (without the black stripes though). I like the black stripe actually, adds character :-)).

  6. 6 Kate November 7, 2009 at 4:56 am

    Oh, no! Ears and a tail?! I’m not sure if I can handle the cuteness!

  7. 7 nova November 9, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    cute!!! and ooh yes please to your upcoming pattern too! 😀


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

