Stash additions

I’ve been having a little fun ordering some yarn lately, and I thought I should share some snaps of what landed here yesterday.

002

This was the reason for my order: I really wanted to buy something to knit the Alpaka Tunic from the latest Interweave Knits magazine. And I thought it would be fun to try alpaca. I’ve only ever knitted a soaker from alpaca before, and this pattern seemed the ideal one to try on. Nothing available at all here in NZ in this weight though, and not at a reasonable price. This is Berocco Ultra Alpaca, a 50% wool 50% alpaca blend. And at 197 metres per 100g ball, at only US $7 per ball plus post, this was cheaper than any other options available. I got it from the lovely WEBS and I am once again delighted with their service. I am surprised that it is as thin as it is – certainly comparable to the weight of some of our supposedly “DK” weight yarn here.  But I adore the colour (Lavender Mix) and am looking foward to knitting it up. Or, rather, stashing it away to knit up once the warm weather passes.

And of course since I was paying postage, I thought I might as well make it worthwhile and order a few more bits’n’pieces. This is Malabrigo Silky Merino in “Dill” which is for a knitted gift I’ve promised to make.

005

And these are for the stash: one beautiful skein of Dream in Colour Smooshy in “Pansy Golightly” colourway – what divine colours, and two skeins of Araucania Ranco Solid in ‘berry’ and ‘mint’.  I thought these solid colourways would suit some of my lovely Cookie A patterns that really invite a nice solid colourway to show off the cables. 

004

I am so excited to add (squish, squish) these to my stash – these are just the kind of things I was hoping I would be able to put in there while I was on a buying ban. Of course given the second order I’ve got arriving soon, I will soon not be buying again due to lack of funds. Ah well, it’s fun while the buying lasts, and then the knitting makes the fun last so much longer.

And in other news, my exam is over and it looks like I can still string a sentence together. 3 hours, 4 essays, 17 pages of writing.  Fun.

8 Responses to “Stash additions”


  1. 1 Julia aka j-j November 5, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    They’re all gorgeous! I love alpaca too, so soft!

  2. 3 Darcy November 5, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    The colors are gorgeous what lovely stash inhancers;)
    I bought to much yarn for my birthday I will have to stop buying for the rest of the year as well.lol Hugs Darcy

  3. 4 Alia November 5, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Oh nice, I love that purple!

  4. 5 Virginia November 6, 2009 at 3:37 am

    Oooh, pretty!

    I’ve recently started to become a really huge fan of Berrocco, due to their price point.

    WEBS is awesome! I hope that you get the chance to go someday.
    I’m feverishly planning my trip back there at some point in the near future.

  5. 6 Caffeine Girl November 6, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Congratulations on getting through your exam. I would imagine you had one tired hand!

    I love your stash acquisitions, especially that mint Malabrigo. And those solid sock yarns are indeed perfect for Cookie A patterns.

  6. 7 gardenmama November 6, 2009 at 11:37 am

    so very, very beautiful!!

  7. 8 Kate November 7, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I’m so envious! What a great stash enhancement! I’m envious! All of your colors are so pretty- I can’t wait to see what you make!


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,293 hits

