FO: Bloom

014

Miss 1 looks lovely in her new wee top. And so does Miss 3. (Yes, she was willing to try this on. Go figure.)

007

Oh and so does the newborn size dolly…

024

Amazing eh? I think I really confused my husband this afternoon taking these pictures of everyone in the same dress/top. But I just *had* to try out the amazing qualities of the “Bloom” that see it grow with your baby. This is the latest pattern from Aussie designer “Tikki”, and I was eagerly awaiting the pattern, having heard it came in multiple sizes and yarn weights – 4ply, 8ply and 10ply.  I had a ball of 4ply Wool Company yarn in Raspberry that I would be perfect. What I hadn’t realised was that each size has the same number of stitches exactly, it is just be changing needle size and gauge that the sizes varied. Clever, eh.  It  did leave me with a little problem though, as this size is meant to fit newborn to 12 months. But the pattern features Tikki’s daughter Lily who is nearly 4 wearing the 4 ply version, so I figured my petite nearly 17 month old would still get lots of wear out of this. And I think we now know just how much…

008

Yes, I think it might end up being first up best dressed around our place!

So what are the magic elements to this pattern? It is knit in the round top down, so no seaming 🙂 The bodice is 1×1 rib which looks so teensy tiny – you can see it doesn’t stretch at all on the newborn dolls. Then there is a lovely increase which sits beautifully over Miss 1’s budda belly, and stretches out flat across Miss 3’s chest.  Clever.  Then the skirt is worked straight in a lace pattern, before heading to a more detailed border. I started to worry about running out of yarn – I had maybe 2-3 metres left when I cast off.

025

While I enjoyed knitting this, it isn’t an idle knit once the rib is done – I needed to have a good amount of concentration for counting out the lace pattern. Of course I am not a natural lace knitter, so people who love lace will find this a complete doddle. And I cannot recommend this pattern highly enough when you consider it covers age newborn through to approximately 8 years. It would be terrific if you wanted to knit a gift for a girl whose measurements you don’t know, and you are guaranteed that the wearer will get lots of use from it.

018

Even if they *do* run away from the photoshoot.

13 Responses to “FO: Bloom”


  1. 1 Susan L November 7, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    This is so sweet … the colour, the pattern and the little Miss! LOL

    Good job.

  2. 2 Nyree November 7, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    I love the shot of Ali and the one of beca running away! It looks gorgeous, well done!

  3. 3 accountantgrrl November 8, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Oh my goodness! What a cute little shirt/dress.

  4. 4 sara November 8, 2009 at 2:16 am

    What an awesome pattern! You did a great job on it!

  5. 5 Judy November 8, 2009 at 4:50 am

    That is a gorgeous pattern, and looks lovely on both girls. Yes, I definitely think a case of first up best dressed 🙂

  6. 6 Caffeine Girl November 8, 2009 at 5:46 am

    That is truly a darling dress — looks wonderful on both girls. It makes me wish I’d have been knitting when my girl (now off at college) was small and would wear anything I made!

  7. 7 Kate November 8, 2009 at 5:50 am

    That sounds like a great pattern. The girls look lovely in it! It’s amazing how versatile that pattern is!

  8. 9 Virginia November 8, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Gorgeous! That is a fabulous pattern. I might have to look that one up once I get through my Christmas knitting.

  9. 10 kreachr November 8, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Wow, that wee dress/top is beautiful – what a gorgeous colour, and a fantastic knit! Your girls look lovely in it.

  10. 11 Mazzy November 8, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Gorgeous! Makes me want to cast on immediately.

  11. 12 I November 9, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Brilliant to just change the needle sizes..looks cute on!

  12. 13 nova November 9, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    lovely! the colour is just delicious too… i wonder if i knit it in a unisex colour i could justify my boy wearing it to get max. use??! 😉


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 339,830 hits

