In love with lace weight

007

Last week I cast on for another Whisper cardigan. You might recall I knit one earlier in the year, just in time for weather too cold to wear it. In the last few weeks it has been getting some use, and this reminded me that I had bought some yarn for a second attempt at the pattern. The deliciously smooshy Malabrigo Lace Yarn. 

I have to confess that I had no idea how this would knit up, or I would never had let this languish in my stash through the winter. Who would have imagined the beautiful cuddly depth of this yarn?  Not me anyway. Knit on 4.5mm needles, the fabric this produces is so incredibly soft I had to pass it around knitting group the other night to let everyone else have  a pat. I fear my developing yarn snobbery may rub off on them eventually.

But this has got me thinking several things.

a) Is all lace weight yarn as delicious? This is the only one I’ve tried. I may need to try more!

b) This is the recommended yarn for the pattern. I liked the version I did earlier in the year. But I *love* this sooo much more. So, am I missing out on this in-love experience for all the patterns I knit? The range of yarn available in New Zealand is increasing all the time, and thanks to the dollar’s recent rise overseas yarn isn’t too bad, but I do prefer to shop local and support LYS when I can too.   I might have to reconsider impluse buys though, especially on sales, if they aren’t going to do justice to a pattern.

I am taking this knitting on this cardigan slowly – I have masses of Christmas knitting and other projects to do, but when I need  a simple knit with delicious yarn, this will be my project of choice.

006

8 Responses to “In love with lace weight”


  1. 1 sara November 9, 2009 at 5:10 am

    I am currently working on a Pi shawl in Malabrigo Laceweight. It is very soft, but I’ve heard it pills terribly. I”ll have to wait and see. I’ve been debating the Whisper since it first arrived on the scene. Your black one is lovely and I can’t wait to see this one!

  2. 3 Judy November 9, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Dude. It’s mmmmmmmmmmmMalabrigo. There is a reason why people LOVE this yarn with a passion.

    Your Whisper is further than mine. It’s hibernating.

  3. 4 Virginia November 9, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    I’ve made a whisper with the original yarn the pattern called for, Morehouse Merino. It is pretty awesome.

    Currently I’m making another lace weight cardigan (the featherweight) with morehouse, but after that I’m going to give mal a try.

    Love the morehouse. It is extremely squoosy.

    But the damnable things take forever. ugh.

  4. 6 Kate November 9, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    That is such a pretty color! I love the subtle variations in color.

    I’ve admired that sweater for a while now, but it seems a little overwhelming to me to knit a WHOLE sweater in laceweight. Is it knitting up slowly? Are you using one skein or two? Were you hesitant at first to knit a sweater in such thin yarn? I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the pattern! Take care!

    • 7 shortly24 November 9, 2009 at 10:52 pm

      It is knitting up surprisingly slowly, yes. Although having knit the same pattern in 4ply on the same size needles I couldn’t see a big problem with this thinner yarn. I guess another good thing about lace weight is it takes up even less room in your stash than sock yarn 🙂

      It should take two skeins – they are 50g each. Can you imagine a 100g sweater! Incredible. The funny thing is using what feels like such big needles. I think sock knitting has spoiled me and I am really starting to prefer tiny needles and tiny stitches. I have a 4ply cardigan in the planning stages now too… Watch this space 🙂


  1. 1 The value of monogamy? « Shortly Stitches Trackback on February 27, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,056 hits

