I should have known better

And in fact I did know better. Yes, I knit something in totally the wrong yarn, with predictable effects.

I came across a brand new free pattern on Ravelry on the weekend – a gorgeous wee shrug for toddlers. Knit in a lacey pattern on big needles, it seemed a perfect fast knit that would be ideal for our current changable weather.

This is the pattern version

Gorgeous, eh!

And here’s mine…

011

Where did the lace go? Oh, its hidden in all those variegations. Which I *knew* would happen.

So, why did I knit this? Well, I made the mistake of letting Miss 3 chose the  yarn. Sigh.  She likes it.

But it is a wee bit tight – I had to upsize the pattern to fit her and it needs to be a bit wider, so I need to rip the edging out, undo the sleeves a bit, and redo the edging. It is less than an hour’s work, but it can wait for another day. Tonight I am working on Christmas knitting.

 

5 Responses to “I should have known better”


  1. 1 Kate November 12, 2009 at 3:37 am

    On a positive note, she’ll probably wear it because she picked out the yarn, right? That’s better than having a perfect knitted item, that never gets worn.

    I know how you feel- it happens to all of us! You see the picture of the pattern, and what you create just isn’t even close to what the picture looks like! Happy Knitting!

  2. 2 sara November 12, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I agree with Kate. Miss 3 will love it because she picked the yarn. My knits *never* look like the pictures. Ever. I’ve just given up on that. lol

  3. 3 sara November 12, 2009 at 6:50 am

    PS: I think the shrug looks fine 🙂

  4. 4 Heather November 12, 2009 at 8:02 am

    If she’s happy with it that’s all that matters. I’m sure it will look adorable on her.

  5. 5 Joanne Foot November 12, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    And as she wears it, it will stretch out a bit, yes? So the lace pattern will become more visable?
    Lovely that she chose her special yarn too 🙂


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,292 hits

