I’ve been…

Time traveling lately.

 

Given that I’m not a science-fiction fan, I find the concept of time travel as presented in these novels as quite acceptable. And it makes me question my statement that I prefer my books believeable.  Especially when you consider how many cars Stephanie Plum has blown up or destroyed over the years… I think I prefer my fiction to have the ring of truth to it. But, I don’t think that it’s likely I will start avoiding standing stones at certain times of the year, or accepting explanations from stark naked men I see on the street that blame time travel for their condition…

My lovely sisters read Diana Gabaldon’s novels before I did – in fact I read the first of them about 5 years ago now, and took a small stack with me when I travelled away on a school camp, thus infecting a colleage with the desire to read them too.  Yes, I have to confess, it was the teacher reading by torchlight after hours on that camp. And, given we were sleeping on a marae, I was setting a very bad example for the girls as we all slept together on matresses in one big room. 

An Echo in the Bone is vintage Gabaldon. Nothing unexpected about this novel – it has strong plot lines, multiple stories happening at once, and a assumption that you remember who each character is without going over and over their histories (unlike some other authors I could name).  There is war, time travel, twists and turns, losses and gains, a stranger or two, and of course some interesting medical treatments.  I enjoyed this book – it’s not a fast read at all, it took me over a week to read, but coming home to familiar characters who are treated with respect by an author is always fun.

Audrey Niffenigger’s The Time Traveller’s Wife has recently been made into a movie, so in the hopes I might get to see it, I re-read this too.  Chances are I won’t get to = I think the last ‘grown up movie’ I saw might have been the recent(ish) adaptation of Pride and Prejudice – before Miss 3 was born!!  Somehow movie-going has slipped off the agenda over the years.  It’s nice to re-read a book several years after you last read it, so that you can’t remember all the intricacies of the storyline.  This is a delight to read, an amazing first novel, and I am hoping to put Niiffenigger’s new novel on my Christmas wish-list, with the confirmation that she is a solid writer – it’s not just about the story. I love the structure of this novel, the gradual unfolding of information to the reader, and to each of the characters too.  It’s funny how you can want to stay up at night to read, when you already know how  the book ends. But I wanted to, and I did.  Lots of fun – I highly recommend it.

Stay tuned for more things that I’ve been doing – I have to distract you all from asking how my knitting is going!!

4 Responses to “I’ve been…”


  1. 1 kreachr November 18, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I’ve recently started An Echo in the Bone, and I can tell you now it’s going to take me a lot longer than a week to read it!! Diana Gabaldon never disappoints, and I’ve enjoyed each one of her novels, including the John Grey series. I haven’t yet managed to see her in person during her travels though 😦 I’ve been wanting to read The Time-Traveler’s Wife for some time now – maybe after I’ve finished An Echo in the Bone…

    Glad you enjoyed them! And for goodness’ sake woman, go to the movies!! Take your husband on a date 😉

  2. 2 Kate November 19, 2009 at 6:25 am

    I’ve been thinking about reading the Time Traveler’s Wife, and now I’ll definitely pick it up. I’m always looking for something different to read! Thanks so much for putting a recommendation out there!

  3. 3 Kelly November 21, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I’m just about to start Echo, and am also itching to read TTTW after hearing the movie was out 🙂

  4. 4 Jolie November 24, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    I haven’t read either yet, but Echo is definitely on my list as I’ve read the rest in the series, and I am very keen to read TTTW as well after hearing such great things about Niffenegger…not sure how I missed her at the time. Oh yeah that’s right, I was living on a small rock in the ocean with nary a Whitcoulls in sight! Great reading your reviews – I’m not a sci-fi fan really wither, but time travel seems to sit quite comfortable with me as well…I guess that just makes us complex!


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 342,207 hits

