Some sewing at last!

I’ve been busy at the sewing machine over the past few days, making the most of some pretty fabric and finishing off the work in progress bags I have orders for plus a few more.  I have also been working on an outfit each for the girls, although the fact they are incomplete didn’t stop me from working on something entirely different today.

Inspired by our library visit today, I took the opportunity to (finally) cut out the second and third library bags I got the fabric for several months ago.  I got one done too – it was one of those magic days where both girls slept and slept.  This bag is for me, I adore the fabric, and have enough to make myself a WIP bag which will be made tomorrow, as there is no time like the present!

Like the other library bag, I used a pattern made from an old cloth bag we had worn out, which I cut apart.  I added a patchwork panel and contrast of my own design.  The fabric is some lovely decorator weight Amy Bulter from her Nigella range. I totally adore it and am glad I have made something ‘useful’ from it. I love having the library books stored in the bags, as they girls books stay in them between visits, so I have an excuse for the bags staying out looking pretty all the time. 

We visit the library fortnightly on a Sunday, and today was our library day.  A while ago, a friend’s husband was bemoaning to me the pathetic collection of fly fishing books in the library and I pointed out that the section was approximately four times larger than the knitting section. It seems in recent months they have actually been buying some new knitting books though. I was able to get out these good old stitch dictionaries, as well as two new additions.

I have borrowed the Simply Baby book before, in fact the lovely knitted teddies I made were sourced from this book, and while I might not *use* any patterns from either book, it is lovely to flick through the patterns and admire them. 

I can see the days ahead taking shape – lots of finishing projects, secret Christmas knitting, and enjoying the spring sunshine before my marking contract tears me away from my life of leisure.

5 Responses to “Some sewing at last!”


  1. 1 Anne November 23, 2009 at 12:30 am

    That is lovely lovely fabric. What a great way to get to look at it a lot 🙂

  2. 2 Lisa November 23, 2009 at 12:31 am

    That bag is gorgeous. You are so clever

  3. 3 Virginia November 23, 2009 at 2:32 am

    The bag is lovely! What a great idea.

    We’re very fortunate to live within walking distance of a great library with a huge knitting section. I’m a fan. Although I do have this terrible habit of buying knitting books… I should really stop.

  4. 4 Lina November 23, 2009 at 5:43 am

    That bag is so pretty! I love the fabric too.

  5. 5 Hannah November 26, 2009 at 9:07 am

    ooo might have to have a flick through the felt book 🙂


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,004 hits

