Amy overload

As promised, I spent the day in front of my sewing machine today finishing the third library bag, and working with my gorgeous Amy Butler Nigella fabric.

So, a book bag for Miss 1 to match the ones I made for Miss 3 and I. 

The second thing I worked on today was a bag to hold my swift. It was made by a friend’s father, and had been stored in the brown paper wrapper it arrived in, until it fell apart. I cut this out months ago, and then did nothing more. I had decided it needed a pocket but wasn’t sure how I would make it. Today it was a doddle, as I realised a full width pocket would be sewn in with the seams. With a small flap for the top, and a bit of contrasting binding, it was done.  The pocket will store the dowels easily and closes with a snap. I totally love my snap press, it is so much easier than trying to get my machine to produce a passable buttonhole!  Then it was a matter to whipping up a lining and side seams, and making a casing for the ribbon closure.  Ah, yet another bit of Amy loveliness to sit around being useful and pretty.

I had enough left overs to make myself a beautiful work in progress bag too.

And speaking of left overs, I played around with them too, and made three more slightly smaller work in progress bags – the one of on the right is the smallest and would be perfect for a sock knitter.  These need rehoming, as a girl doesn’t need *quite* this many beautiful bags.

And now all I am left with from two yards of beautiful fabric is this:

Oh, and a floor desperately in need of vacuuming.   What fun it was to spend a whole day sewing. I can’t remember the last time I did. But for now, I had better pick up those knitting needles!

7 Responses to “Amy overload”


  1. 1 Darcy November 24, 2009 at 6:29 am

    Very pretty you have been a busy gal:) Hugs Darcy

  2. 2 I November 24, 2009 at 8:03 am

    ..wish I could sew…awesome the use you got out of all the fabric!

  3. 3 Hannah November 24, 2009 at 8:15 am

    man your a machine!
    I have been a bit like that but with hand sewing haha you shouldve seen my floor yesterday! 100’s of tiny bits of felt and cotton everywhere 😛

  4. 4 Kate November 24, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I love those bags! The fabric is so sweet! I must be nice to just whip up a wip bag whenever you need one!

  5. 5 Ali November 24, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    They’re gorgeous! I love Amy Butler fabric 🙂

  6. 6 Jolie November 24, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I’m a little in awe that your swift now has its own gawjus bag!!!

  7. 7 Lisa November 25, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I am thinking that bags are what i will be making for presents this year. These are just gorgeous and that fabric is to die for.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,674 hits

