Dessert Yarn Swap

What a delicious and delightful evening we had last night! First we had a shared dinner, and then the yarn swap festivities began. Each person got to open their parcel, yarn was fondled around and dyeing techniques discussed.  Then after a quick photo session we lined up the yarn with the dessert that inspired it. And, then the desserts were history. 

It’s supposedly the beginning of summer now.  The last four days have been rain and more rain. The local airport has been closed for three days this week already due to low lying fog. And what has this to do with our swap? Well, the berry season is well underway despite the unseasonal weather, and you could certainly tell this from the desserts and the colours of the yarn. But despite similar inspirations, there were lots of variations on theme within the swap. Here’s a selection from the evening.

This is the parcel I recieved, with 200g of 10 ply yarn, dyed to go with a lovely wee tart willed with marscarpone and topped with stewed red rhubarb.  Beautiful!

And this is the yarn I dyed for my recipient.

You saw the dessert yesterday – I hadn’t realised how much yellow would be in it when it was made up – I focussed on pinks, with a touch of boysenberry and a little brown for the gingernut crumble on the of the parfait. The yarn is 100g of 4 ply Vintage Purls yarn.  My recipient hasn’t knitted socks before but had expressed a desire to do so.  I gifted the glass I made it in, along with three more to make a set, all with lolly parfaits, along with a few other goodies too.

I think you will agree I have some incredibly imaginative friends, and there is some beautiful yarn going to be hitting the needles around these parts sometime soon.

I’m not sure if you all want to see the desserts too? It feels like a massive picture overload for one post, so if you think I should share the delicious goodies, leave a message and I’ll post pics tomorrow 🙂

6 Responses to “Dessert Yarn Swap”


  1. 1 Judy December 4, 2009 at 6:46 am

    Yes please, I like to look at pretty food 🙂

  2. 2 Sam December 4, 2009 at 8:17 am

    hey hun – your blurb about your wool is one pic out … 😉

  3. 3 Hannah December 4, 2009 at 8:41 am

    hehehe i knwo what you mean about excissive! i put all the photos in one blog post yesterday and it is photo OVERLOAD!

  4. 4 Lina December 4, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    How fun! I love all the cool ideas in your group.

    And I say yes to dessert pics. Who doesn’t like pictures of food?

  5. 5 Virginia December 4, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    So pretty!

    I think I need to become more social so that I can have a knitting group to hang out with and do fun girly things with…

  6. 6 Alia December 4, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Yum yum yum yum yum yum yum!


Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

