Subscribe now and get one issue FREE!

Yes, I have a confession to make.

Back when I was on my yarn-buying ban, I had to indulge my knitting obsession in other ways. One way was to subscribe to Interweave Knits.  I had bought the last few issues and have found them to consistently have at least two-three patterns I’d really like to knit, so it seems that they are probably a good buy for me. And, well, when you can get five issues for the price of four, and when the price you pay is approximately the price of *two* issues off the newstand here, including international postage, well, it seems like a no-brainer.

My friend Sarah commented that she had seen the new issue in her local magazine shop on the weekend, so I was hopeful mine would arrive soon.  And today, while I was surrounded by stacks of marking, it arrived.  What a lovely lunch break I had today!

The one problem with this issue is that it’s for Winter. And, I am informed, it is summer here. Hmmm, I’ll keep you informed on that one.  So, while I am liking some of the patterns, it is likely to be a wee while before any of them hit my needles. 

For me, I like this one best:

Called Aquitane, it has a simple beauty, although I’ll have to watch that wide neckline!  It is knit in the round from the bottom up, and has a fairly limited size range, but it *does* have my size, so that’s something!

And my other two picks are both potential knits for DH.  First up is the Shredder Pullover. And lookie, it uses the same cute cable as my Jimmy socks!!

And, maybe not my thing with the colourwork, but I like the lines of this pullover too.

This issue is the first regular issue with the new layout, which features themed groups of patterns initially photographed together and then with all instructions following.  One commentator mentioned the seeming increase in full page advertisements that accompanies this change. I hadn’t noticed it so much in the Weekend edition, but certainly noticed it in this magazine. However I happen to quite like ads about knitting… so no complaints here.

Overall, this is a nice issue with a balance of things that make me think “what on earth were they thinking?”, and “no, never”, a few “that’s nice” or “my mother would look good in that” in addition to the gems mentioned above. There are lots of women’s knits, a colourwork cardigan for young girls, and a handful of accessories (no socks this issue?).  So, all in all, I like this issue, and I can see myself really enjoying my new subscription.

3 Responses to “Subscribe now and get one issue FREE!”


  1. 1 littlerwonder December 7, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    That’s a lovely pattern you’ve chosen (the first I mean). I’m disappointed – I’ve deliberately gone out to splash money out on some decent quality knitting magazines in the past couple weeks and can’t find ANY locally. I think a subscription might be imminent…

  2. 2 Virginia December 8, 2009 at 1:02 am

    The Aquitane and the Shredder were the two patterns that I was looking forward to making as well. 🙂

    I like Interweave quite a bit.

    You can also go to their store online and order a CD with a full year of their back issues (going back to 2005, I think)) for $19.95USD per year. I’ve been thinking about that one myself…

  3. 3 Kate December 8, 2009 at 2:51 am

    I never thought about magazine issues being flip-flopped! That’s too bad! It’s so funny- it’s winter here, and I don’t really like it. And then I read these blog where people are talking about the springtime, and things growing and the light being beautiful- and I get a little upset because in envious!!!

    Anywho, take care and happy knitting!


Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,584 hits

