Today I dusted

Well, actually I didn’t, dusting is DS’s job. But I * did* dust off my DPNs.

And I quite enjoyed using them. No stitch markers needed to work out where to do my increases was a bonus. Slightly more difficult was trying to sit on the floor knitting while a toddler used me as a jungle gym (or a slide…). Yes, DPNs are far more pointy and dangerous using magic loop!

I love these 4.5mm Knitpicks Harmony DPNs. Such a scrummy finish, and delightfully unslidy, which meant the cotton yarn stayed put. Yes, despite the aforementioned stupid decision to knit while supervising Miss Active.  So, highly recommended. I have another project that needs DPNs waiting in the wings, so I think I will break out the smaller sizes and abandon the idea of magic looping it. I’m up for a challenge of working with small pointy sticks. I think.

6 Responses to “Today I dusted”


  1. 1 Caffeine Girl December 10, 2009 at 4:26 am

    Gee, and I thought you were going to make me feel guilty!

    I love DPNs and use them all the time? What have you started there? Do you struggle with casting on just a few stitches on DPNs? That’s one thing I have not mastered.

  2. 2 Judy December 10, 2009 at 6:09 am

    I love me some small pointy sticks.

    Knitting toys I discovered a great way to cast on a few stitches to DPNs. Say you need 6, then cast on 3 (cable or knit on, not long tail), and KFB into each one to get your 6. Then distribute around the needles (2 stitches on each in this case) and start to knit around. The stitches don’t seem to twist as much, and the center hole is pretty much non-existant.

  3. 4 Heather December 10, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Yeah, double point needles and busy wee ones are not very compatible. The knitting looks beautiful.

  4. 5 Nicky December 12, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Id love to know what this is going to be …?

  5. 6 ~buzzybee~ December 12, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    I love dpn’s too – I think I’m quicker using dpn’s than with magic loop, and I get sick of having to always pull the loop through.
    My cat loves dpn’s too – all my bamboo ones have her teeth-marks!


Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,375 hits

