FO: Grrlfriend Market Bag

Yes, from this…

To this…

Yes, the cute wee square is  a bit bigger now. And in the mail off to its new home too.

This is knit to a free pattern, the Grrlfriend Market Bag, and I knit it out of Anchor Magicline cotton, using nearly 150g.  The ball band recommended 4.5mm needles, and so I used these for the base, and then switched to 4mm needles once I started to use a circular needle.  Only because despite a good look I couldn’t find my 40cm 4.5mm needle anywhere! It could probably have done with the bigger needle though – this is designed to st-r-e-t-c-h, so I might have foiled the plan there somewhat!   For future reference I knit 30 repeats of the pattern – it tells you to knit however much you want 🙂

This was a fun wee knit – it took about 3 days knitting on and off, and I would definitely knit it again. I have two market bags, one a bought one, and a super large bag knitted in hemp I was gifted a few years ago and I get so much use out of them.  Some shops are finally starting to charge for plastic bags here so it pays to carry a big versatile bag to avoid having to pay for plastic, and if you are doing multiple errands a market bag is so useful.  I wasn’t sure how the cotton would look striped up in this pattern, but I really like it – it seems to suit the purpose admirably. Now all I have to hope is that it arrives safely at its destination, and that its recipient likes it!

Speaking of gifts, I got some yarn in the post today from Tangled Yarns some of which is for a Christmas present and so will be hitting the needles shortly.  This is my third order from Tangled Yarns and I have been super impressed with Kelly’s service. She is based in Brisbane and I’ve heard her bricks and mortar store is just gorgeous. Her online store has been growing too, and I was pleased to grab some Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece for some summer tops for the girls while I was browsing. Love the colours – I got Wisteria and Berry. Not exactly sure which colour for which girl yet though. Or exactly what pattern either. But you might get a hint tomorrow 🙂  Oh, and I could not resist the last skein of Malabrigo sock yarn to add to my stash. I am thinking shawlette rather than socks though…

I think my post-Christmas knitting is well sorted with this lot – just one and half more knitted presents to go! Some (other) knitted goodies are already in the mail with more to be sent tomorrow 🙂 How is your Christmas knit list going? I hope you managed to sneak a few skeins for yourself in too while you were shopping!!

3 Responses to “FO: Grrlfriend Market Bag”


  1. 1 Virginia December 15, 2009 at 12:45 am

    Love the market bag. The colors are beautiful.

    I heartily recommend the Damson for your malabrigo sock. It is a fun quick knit, and I think you could probably get away with throwing it over your shoulders during the late summer.

  2. 2 Kelly December 15, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Love the GMB pattern – its my fav MB 🙂 And love TY too….a post of loes for me tonight LOL

  3. 3 Jo December 15, 2009 at 7:13 am

    Love the Market Bag, it’s on my ‘To Do’ list for after Christmas. I’ve spotted some lovely hemp at our local Trade Aid store which I will pick up this week.

    Loving the colours of your TY order, can’t wait to see them knitted up.


Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

