First project of the year

Casting on for a project from the small selection of yarn in my suitcase should not present too many problems, you would imagine. But I have to confess that this yarn is now in its *fourth* incarnation now. Yep, I’ve been doing some frogging lately!

The yarn in question is some lovely 4ply Vintage Purls sock yarn hand dyed and gifted to me by a friend a few months ago.  It is a lovely collection of rich greens, and since I am on a sock binge at the moment, that was the logical cast on. But alas –  this yarn wanted to be a shawlette.

So I tried a couple of different patterns to no avail. Rip, rip. Frog pond.

However I was finally happy with the yarn and pattern combination when I hit upon the Travelling Woman pattern.  This is a free shawl pattern that was released in August 2009 and is incredibly popular thus far – 954 projects not including mine 🙂  I had faved it and then forgotten about it, as you do! My friend Kelly knit a beautiful version and within an hour of reading her post my green yarn was finally starting to take shape into something it was apparently destined to become.

The knitting on this wee beauty is all done, but a FO post will have to wait until after blocking, which will be once we get home. I don’t see a way to accomplish it here on holiday. But I am looking forward to seeing the lace pop once blocking happens. Can’t wait!

7 Responses to “First project of the year”


  1. 1 Kelly January 6, 2010 at 11:35 am

    WOW, a green Travelling Woman – very cool! I bet that will look spectacular when blocked 🙂

    I too have been knitting from a suitcase, and it’s hard! I packed up about 8 different yarns to choose from, but of course none of them have been appealing…doh!

  2. 2 Virginia January 6, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Very pretty!

    And Kelly, it sounds like it’s time to hit up a yarn store. 🙂

  3. 3 Hannah January 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    awsome Sheryl! is that the yarn kristy dyed?

  4. 4 Caffeine Girl January 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    That shawl is beautiful. I can see that I need to hop over to Ravelry to look up the pattern. Can’t wait to see it blocked!

  5. 5 Kate January 7, 2010 at 4:02 am

    MMMM… that green is scrumptious!

  6. 6 Darcy January 10, 2010 at 6:33 am

    This pattern is on my 10 in 2010 to knit yours is lovely:)Hugs Darcy

  7. 7 Pipi January 12, 2010 at 10:54 am

    OMG OMG that is just absolutely amazing! I love that green, oh I can’t wait to see what it looks like after it is blocked. Oh wow!


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

