Seasonal Eating

In the few weeks that we were away down south, our vegetable garden has sprung into nearly full production. These pictures were taken around 6pm, thus the long shadows.

In the right foreground are some chives, then strawberries, zuchinnis, self-seeded pumpkins, climbing beans, and behind them are butter beans, lettuce, and potatoes and broccolini.

On the left are more lettuce, newly planted snow peas, a great crop of cauliflowers, and beside them more climbing beans. Then there are cabbages, butter beans, tomatoes, basil, more zuchinnis, corn and yams.

At the far end are pak choi, and some very small tomatoes and capsicums.

On the other side…

Rhubard, New Zealand native Spinach, baby cauliflower, raspberry plant, leeks, cucumber, thornless blackberry, more (!) butter beans and baby cauliflower, silver beet and an enormous sunflower.ย  Oh, and the most exciting bit – asparagus plants (!) I have wanted asparagus for aaaages but always missed the season in the shops. Iย managed to get green and purple plants and they have teeny tiny baby spears on them – maybe I will get to harvest them next year ๐Ÿ™‚ Too cool! (Dh hates asparagus, so it’s just for me and maybe I’ll share with the kids)

Daily visits to our garden are rewarded with produce. We have been eating every night according to what is ready. So far since we have been back we have eaten DS’s favourite Zuchinni Pasta, zuchinni fritters, lovely fresh beans, a vegetable frittata full of home grown vegetables, a rhubarb crumble, and delicious new potatoes. Seasonal eating at its best.ย  My friends gardens are doing well too. I came home from knitting night with two cabbages and some more rhubarb (you can’t *ever* have enough according to my DH) from Kate’s garden, destined for our plates in the near future.ย  What a lovely reminder that summer is here – since the weather is not currently obliging!

These are the blackberries – but if you look carefully you can see the new shoes I got for Christmas ๐Ÿ™‚

Sorry to bore you with masses of photos etc but I’ve been spending so much more time outside than in the last few days, so I just *had* to share ๐Ÿ™‚

13 Responses to “Seasonal Eating”


  1. 1 Lisa January 13, 2010 at 12:16 am

    What a wonderful garden! I am jealous much! PS LOVE the shoes. Too cute

  2. 2 Jolie January 13, 2010 at 12:18 am

    oh yum, now I’m really hungry…and even more impatient to get our veggie patches *built* so we’re ready for the end of Summer planting…

    And super cute shoes…I have been on the hunt for cute reds!

  3. 3 Amybel January 13, 2010 at 12:47 am

    I agree, you can never have too much rhubarb! I’m intrigued by your beans in the most beautiful purple color! Haven’t seen anything like that here.

    • 4 shortly24 January 13, 2010 at 8:02 am

      Aren’t they cute? They are called “Purple King”. Disappointingly, they turn green when they are cooked. More food should be purple. (oh, right, the purple cabbage, red-dy purple lettuce, and purple asparagus… )

  4. 5 Kate January 13, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Look at that beautiful cauliflower! I really miss garden fresh veggies. My goodness- I’m just so so envious of you all the time! Have such a great summer!

  5. 6 Judy January 13, 2010 at 6:16 am

    Rhubarb! You’re making my mouth water…

  6. 7 Virginia January 13, 2010 at 7:03 am

    That is so awesome!

    I’m very jealous of your garden.

    And I’m very amused by the thought of you saying “aaaaaages” in your New Zealand accent.

  7. 8 Nikki January 13, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Looks fantastic! (I noticed the cute shoes before the veges lol).

  8. 9 Kelly January 13, 2010 at 9:24 am

    oooh, love the shoes! We’re growing cucumbers at the moment, and our plants are absolutely dripping in flowers…which bodes well!

  9. 10 Lina January 13, 2010 at 11:26 am

    I’m so jealous of your garden! It looks amazing.

  10. 11 mum2girls January 13, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    What a fntastic garden you have! I want to know your secret to such good cauliflower. I have tried a few times to grow them but they always come out yellow and gross looking and I just throw them in the compost heap. Also what do you use to keep the bugs at bay? I notice all your leaves look lush and untouched by little visitors.
    The shoes are very cute to ๐Ÿ˜›

    • 12 shortly24 January 13, 2010 at 4:00 pm

      Good caulis seem to be the luck of the draw – they like the composty soil they are in for a start, and I do the quick water routine and occasional liquid feed of plant food too ๐Ÿ™‚ In terms of leaves, I check them over and (ick) squish any green visitors, as well as a quick derris dust when I think it’s needed (these only got done right before we went away). And then pick off hte unslightly leaves! I think we will be eating caulis heaps. But I don’t *do* brocolli cos I seem to get lots more caterpillars on them.

  11. 13 'Marmitey' January 14, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Wow and WOW! I am inspired. That is one fantastic looking garden (and the shoes are pretty cool too! I long to start a vege garden but don’t really live in the ideal location for it – oh, the joys of renting a house in Wellington with no backyard and on a steep hill ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,004 hits

