FO: Travelling Woman

I finally found enough time and cat-hair free space to block this lovely shawlette.  As I suspected, it looks lovely, and confirms I *really need* blocking wires! 

This is the lovely Travelling Woman pattern. I think this is a delightful pattern, very well written and easy to follow. It offers both written and charted instructions – I followed the written ones, I’m not averse to charts but there were a couple of errata in the charts and I could not be bothered working out where they were and if my verision had them fixed – colour me lazy!

I knit it as per the pattern and used on 72g of yarn – I could easily have done two more repeats of pattern A with my yarn. I used Vintage Purls sock yarn which I was gifted last year by a friend, she dyed it herself.  I have enough left for a pair of socks for one of my girls, and they are cast on already 🙂

When I was going to cast this on (after already casting on about four other projects with this yarn first…) I showed my mother the pattern. She asked “Do you need one”. Of course not! And certainly not in January in the Southern Hemisphere 🙂  I don’t think shawl knitting is about “need* is it? A lovely little piece of colourful lace knitting isn’t about need, it’s about desire!  Having knit this, I am not sure if I will keep it or gift it. To someone else who probably doesn’t *need* it either! But a scrap of hand knit goodness is such a lovely gift to give 🙂

12 Responses to “FO: Travelling Woman”


  1. 1 Susan L January 14, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Very pretty … style and colour. PS I agree … it’s all about want … and I want one too! LOL

  2. 2 Virginia January 15, 2010 at 1:02 am

    Blocking wires make all the difference in the world! I highly recommend getting some.

    Or just going to your local hardware store and picking up some lengths of wire or something. 🙂

    Your shawl looks beautiful! Love it! That color is amazing.

  3. 3 Kate January 15, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Wow! How beautiful! I just love that color green! What a stunning shawlette! You must be so proud!

  4. 4 Darcy January 15, 2010 at 5:00 am

    I love your shawl and the color is absolutely gorgeous good job;)Hugs Darcy

  5. 5 Jane January 15, 2010 at 6:26 am

    Well done – just lovely. I’m working on Damson right now…probably don’t need it – you’re right – but for some reason want it!

  6. 6 Hannah January 15, 2010 at 7:59 am

    beautiful as allways 🙂
    ( and i hear you on the desire part sister! hahaha)

  7. 8 Amybel January 16, 2010 at 4:01 am

    I’m jealous of your weather 🙂

  8. 9 Caffeine Girl January 16, 2010 at 4:02 am

    Don’t we “need” beauty in our lives?

    The shawl is beautiful. Love the color you chose.

  9. 10 Heather January 16, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    That is a brilliant color! It’s funny I was just thinking about choosing that pattern for a lace kal and then I clicked on your blog and there it was! You did an amazing job!

  10. 11 chevgirl January 17, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Love the ways you can wear them – great modelling there girl!

  11. 12 mazzygirls January 17, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    Beautiful – I love the vibrant green colours 🙂


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

