Muffins and stuff

First up I thought today I would share my super yummy muffin recipe for Rhubarb and White Chocolate Muffins. I just adapted my basic muffin recipe, and at knitting night I was asked to share it – so I figured you all might like it too. This is the time of year I find myself inundated with rhubarb, and I thought others might be too. When my zuchinnis get into full production I will share my favourite recipes for them too 🙂

2 Cups of self raising flour (or 2 C normal flour with 2tsp baking powder added)
3/4 Cup caster sugar
1/2 Cup sunflower or canola  oil (or light cooking oil, not soya or peanut)
1 -1.5 cups of rhubarb, cut into small chunks and precooked2 eggs lightly beaten
3/4 Cup milk

White chocolate buttons to taste – I guess we use between 1/4 to 1/2 cup? (Don’t use “Melts” as they don’t work in muffins for some reason!)

2 T raisins
Put all ingredients except rhubarb and white chocolate in a bowl and mix for 1 minute (or ‘just’ mixed, do not over mix) Stir in rhubarb and white chocolate. Spoon into muffin tins – makes 12.

Cook @ 190degC for 20 mins 

I can’t guarantee how long these last for – there are never any left past two days at our place 🙂

Yesterday was baking day at our place, whereas today I spent a good amount of time in the garden waterblasting our fence ready for painting. (Waterblasting is sooo misnamed, it’s not really a blast at all). The sun decided to join me outside and the day turned out to be a stunner. Dh suggested we have an impromptu Fish and Chips picnic at the beach for dinner.  Which the seagulls and sandflies really appreciated. So did the kids – who did all the stereotypical things for the age and gender – the boy dug holes, Miss 3 climbed a beautiful pohutukawa tree, and Miss 1 enjoyed the sand and running away 🙂 

4 Responses to “Muffins and stuff”


  1. 1 Kelly January 18, 2010 at 12:18 am

    Oooh Rhubarb muffins…scrummo!
    And I totally didn’t realise that black sand extended all the way down teh West Coast of the NI! I knew it was like that W of Auckland, but didn’t know it was the same in NP

  2. 2 Virginia January 18, 2010 at 3:31 am

    Your sand is black! Wow. I’ve never actually seen black sand in person before. It’s always been a light beige or pure white for me in the (mainland) US.

    I haven’t managed to make it down to Hawaii yet. I hear there’s some black sand down there.

    Looks like you had a lovely time. I love living so near to the beach (especially since my husband and I discovered an awesome beach closer to where we live than Coney Island). Can’t wait for summer.

  3. 3 Judy January 18, 2010 at 5:56 am

    Aw; look at all your cuties. Nice to see some photos of your young man for a change 🙂

  4. 4 Hannah January 18, 2010 at 8:19 am

    Wicked, thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 339,537 hits

