It’s in the box

 The money or the box? That was the question I was faced with – should I chance spending $35 plus postage on a ‘Blendy’s Box’?  Like the iconic Kiwi radio and TV quiz show,  It’s in the bag: The money or the box it was a little like entering the unknown. I could keep the money or risk it all on the box, contents unknown. In the quiz show, the contestant risked money for a ‘bag’ of their choice, it might be a great prize, or a total booby prize.  All was filmed in front of a live studio audience shouting advice. “Money!” “Bag!” “MONEY!” “BAG!!!!!!” MONEY!! BAAAAAAGGGGGG!!!!!! and so on.

Me, it was just my own curiosity. I haven’t bought a yarn and fibre sampler box before. NZ hasn’t had one before, and it is not something I have seen much of overseas although I know they are very popular. So when the boxes were being put together, I registered my interest but didn’t get over excited. When they went on sale last weekend, I totally forgot but when I sat down for my evening knitting time, I discovered they had gone and sale and there were three left. And, well, they got my money and I got the box.

Super service! It arrived first thing Tuesday morning. I don’t know whether I should admit this or not, but, well, I don’t know my courier driver’s name, but I recognise the sound of his van speeding down to the end of our culdesac first thing in the morning. And there was my box.

Here’s what was inside:

I don’t think I got the booby prize, but it’s a bit yarn-lite. I adore the sock yarn samples from Grrlshaped yarns (50% silk 50% merino – yum) and Needlefood, and the sari yarn and alpaca are lovely too. Less said about the boucle the better though (although the supplier has some delicious yarns, not sure why they sent this one in?).

 There is some lovely silk to spin, if I spun, and some other goodies too from Fab Fibres which are cute.

 There were also lots of little goodies, some very crafty things and an awesome pair of leather bootie soles and crochet pattern along with stitch markers – these are calling to me!

However, the end of the day, I was a little underwhelmed over all.  So I am thinking next time, I might just keep the money.

12 Responses to “It’s in the box”


  1. 1 Monique Wagener January 20, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    cool! it is rather light on yarn isn’t it :S

  2. 2 Virginia January 21, 2010 at 12:54 am

    I haven’t bought one of those yet either, although I know they’re very popular. I just don’t have any interest in lurking on sites until they’re up for sale and then competing with the (digitally) stampeding hordes for something that I may or may not like.

    Your box looks pretty cool though.

  3. 3 PJS January 21, 2010 at 2:51 am

    I have never bought a sampler box either, though I do read the phat fiber blog and I am sorely tempted, just once, to have the box… once…. at some point. However, my fear is exactly this, I will pay out a bomb and then be left regreting spending my hard earned cash one a little box of bits and pieces I am not interested in. Though, by the looks of it, your’s was even thinner than the phat fiber box… but look at is this way… at least you tried it, you have some things you wouldnt have bought and you have the excitement of getting the box…. next time you can get piles of fiber with your money instead.

  4. 4 Amybel January 21, 2010 at 7:31 am

    Is there a way to find out about others who got boxes? I know on Ravelry, folks who get the (previously mentioned) phat fiber box then put some of their lesser wanted things up for trades in hopes of getting more of the better liked things, since the quantities seem to be slight. Just a thought on how you might be able to make it work out for you 🙂

  5. 5 Sharonnz January 21, 2010 at 8:11 am

    I’ve been reading some of my vintage patterns this week and some call for boucle. I’m all “ewwwwwwww”;-) Nice idea but does seem a bit bitsy piecey.

    • 6 shortly24 January 21, 2010 at 9:09 am

      There is some lovely boucle around – the stuff from Rare Yarns is sooo lovely, but this colourway just does *no* favours to the yarn.

      Thanks for the comments – you are right, I have some lovely samples and a good idea about what I might like to buy in the future from this. Oh, and did I mention a big juicy discount coupon from Needlefood Yarn? Hmmmmm…

      • 7 Laura January 21, 2010 at 9:44 am

        I did better than you did – got a lovely big sample of red mohair/merino and a felted single that I want to copy.

        One strange thing – I got some stitch markers from someone who specializes in jewelery and they aren’t nearly as nice as the ones attached to a yarn sample (from the Loop Knittery)

        I would be happy to spin the silk into something for you.

  6. 8 Nicky January 21, 2010 at 10:37 am

    I have been thinking about buying a box, but was concerned that the quantities were lacking. Won’t bother I think. Such a shame as it’s a great idea.

  7. 9 kreachr January 21, 2010 at 11:24 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that was a little less than impressed… What I got was nice, but I think next time I’d rather spend my $35+delivery on a skein or two of nice sock yarn!

  8. 10 Sam January 21, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    completely agree with all above .. and the interested part of me made a list of all the samples and i noted that i missed out on about 7 yarns – which is alot really and i guess suppliers may also be unimpressed that their products didn’t get into all the boxes …. no coupon for needle food here 😦 – enjoy that one!!

  9. 11 Libby January 25, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Yeah agreed, I was under-whelmed too. I really like the needlefood sample and loop knittery felted one and agree with Laura that the LK stitch markers were way nicer than the jewellery ones as well. Everything else is just advertising postcards – only needlefood offered a discount on future purchases
    I won’t be spending my money on another one of these boxes and ashamedly say I got caught up in the ‘hype’.

  10. 12 nova February 12, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    snap snap & snap! i only got 5 yarn samples, and really only one of those that i’d like to knit – a grrlshaped yarns one! 🙂 i’ve been trying not to think about what i could have bought instead for that money (it’s probably 1/2 of my annual yarn/fibre budget doh – but i thought the “15 samples” would be 15 samples of yarn or fibre!) but i’ve been reconciling myself that it is still better than the “bags of crap” that people have been buying on 1-day! 😛


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,004 hits

