Times when you are glad that you knit

So, Miss 1 has a sore leg. She isn’t walking, and spent nearly a whole day marooned on the sofa with me before she realised she could still crawl. Now, you can probably predict the story ahead: yes, we have been to the GP twice. Yep, Accident and Emergency too. Yes, many hours of waiting: waiting for appointments, waiting for X-Rays, waiting for blood tests.

Oh, sometimes I am so glad I’m a knitter! I remembered to pack spare nappies, wipes, a snack for Miss, my cell phone, wallet and the sock I am working on. And that was plenty. Because, let’s face it: waiting room magazines are a bit on the sucky side. But knitting, well, that usualy only sucks briefly around the time it throws a curve ball your way (like the fact you didn’t bring your pattern – but in a good news/bad news kind of way, I’d knitted it twice before and had the general idea of how it went.)

So, let me present to you the socks I’m making for the lovely Nikki, my blogiversary giveaway winner.  She chose green, and I am using some Araucania Ranco sock yarn (in the creatively named shade ‘112’) to knit her a pair of Kai-Meis. And, in a piece of good luck, she has tiny feet (despite several entries from people with self-confessed large feet, I scored a size 5 gal!), so I am adapting the pattern for 6o stitches instead of 66 to enable a better fit.  This is sock #1.

But, Miss 1’s medical explorations have revealled only this: she can’t/ won’t bear weight on her left leg. It’s sore. No spiral fracture has shown up on the x-rays. Despite the slight temperature she is running, she doesn’t have an infected joint. So, it’s either an irritable hip which should fix itself, or a spiral fracture which will show up  on the x-ray only once it starts to heal. Either way, in the meantime we have some more waiting to do – waiting to find out what happens, whether she will start to walk again by herself in the next few days and whether she will end up in plaster in the hottest part of the year (eep!). And in the meantime, I’ll keep knitting.

Oh, and thinking about whether to accept either of the relief teaching contracts I’ve been offered – both of which are part-time, differing durations, but both will mean the girls have to be booked into full-time daycare.

6 Responses to “Times when you are glad that you knit”


  1. 1 Caffeine Girl January 23, 2010 at 7:41 am

    I totally agree. Nothing helps with waiting in a medical situation like knitting. It also helps me get through the increasingly long waits at airports!

    Hope Ms. 1 feels better soon.

    And what a great sock. I’m determined to do that pattern before the end of the year!

  2. 2 Judy January 23, 2010 at 8:04 am

    Aw; poor baby. On the up side, you could be in the US, and this non-diagnosis would have cost you several hundred dollars….

  3. 3 Nikki January 23, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Hope you figure out what’s wrong soon.

    Loving the sock!

  4. 4 Virginia January 23, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Ooh, I hope Miss 1 starts to feel better soon! That is so scary.

    The socks look beautiful. And yes, there are numerous times where I don’t know what I would have done with myself if I hadn’t been a knitter.

  5. 5 Angela January 23, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Same here!I recently knitted on a (rather long) road trip. I find I get carsick if I try to read in the car..yet I can knit. Go figure? Anyhow, glad to be a knitter!

  6. 6 Jane January 24, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Knitting was my friend in hospital visits with my mom and dad!


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 339,830 hits

