Garden Renovations

You might recall some months ago I posted about my vegetable garden and said that I had a desire for a berry garden, in some new garden boxes. Wellll, lucky girl that I am, my father read that (yep, he’s a follower 🙂 ) and when he was planning a summer ‘holiday’, he had planned it to accomodate building one for me. Yay!

I had in mind a patch of grass behind the back garage (to my husand’s delight, we have two garages at our house, a single at the front and a double with workshop at the back. Never, ever, shall he have cause to complain about the size of my yarn or fabric stashes, given the size of his carparts and computer parts stash!) But I digress…

The previous owners of our house had kept a caravan in the spot I had in mind, and it featured some slightly uneven ground, overgrown pavers on part, and a sunken concrete edging on one bit. Messy in other words. My father and husband went shopping for timber, and then my father built the boxes before they worked on installing them together.

Here are some progress pictures.

End of day one: two boxes, no dirt, pavers gone, uneven ground, but amazing progress.

Dh hard at work: we got dirt! You can see our two lemon trees just beyond the vege boxes, and another fruit tree at the back too.  Our other vege garden is behind the flowering shrub you can see.  It’s wedged in between three fences, making it extremely sheltered from the winds. Which is just as well as we’ve had winds blowing a gale all day here today.  I imagine there will be some carnage there despite its sheltered nature.

All ready for growing.  By the end of the second day, the boxes were filled with dirt and ready to plant.

Here’s where I stopped taking pictures. The next day was a dump day – Mum had been busy renovating other parts of the garden – pulling up some older shrubs that were well past their best while Dad was working on the boxes.  Then a general tidy up resulted in dirt being put back on the path, filling in other necessary holes and so on.  After Mum and Dad left I dragged the family out to buy a few more berry plants to put in, and I’ve filled the boxes up with seeds so that we can take advantage of the summer growing season – so I hope that these will be productive enough for real ‘growing’  pictures before too long.

I have to admit that I was mostly tied up with looking after my not very well wee girl while all the hard work was going on – which was disappointing in many ways as it’s always good to get stuck in and accomplish stuff like this. But I am very grateful for my lovely tidy yard and great new berry boxes. I am looking forward to next summer and being able to wander out and collect berries from my own berry patch.

Thanks Dad!

4 Responses to “Garden Renovations”


  1. 1 Kate February 1, 2010 at 4:11 am

    Congratulations on having a bit of earth! You must be so excited about all of the possibilities! How nice it is that you have a couple of strapping men who will make gardens for you!

  2. 2 Virginia February 1, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Very cool!

    How is Miss 1 doing?

  3. 3 kreachr February 1, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Lucky you! What a great family you have 🙂

    I myself am a hopeless gardener – I can kill houseplants in a matter of weeks! So I guess it’s a good thing I live in an apartment…

  4. 4 mazzygirls February 2, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    Fantastic renovations, I love the idea of a berry garden. We’ve been contemplating planting blueberries at our place but can’t figure out where. Settled for passionfruit vines instead.

    I hope your Miss 1 feels much better soon, poor wee thing, and poor you having to sit by and not help with the renovations, I would have found that hard too (but still great!)


Leave a Reply

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

