A good mail day

Ah, you have to love yarny parcels in your letterbox. I had two today. And the best bit? Neither of them were purchases.

Before I left for work I discovered this lovely parcel awaiting unwrapping. So I obliged.

This delightful parcel was for a sock yarn swap I participated in. I sent mine away already but it’s not yet recieved, so I’ll show you that a little later on… But mine, oh, mine. I tried really hard to take a picture of the lovely yarn…

But this one is too dark and doesn’t show the lovely semi-solid nature of the yarn terribly well.

I tried inside too…

This is slightly better… but still doesn’t quite express the lovely subtle colourway adequately.

So, you might say I rather liked the yarn.  The cute wee sock blocker keyring and mini sock pattern that was my gift is so cool, I was tempted to put it right on my keys rather than, say, get to work on time.  There is a suggested pattern included, a lovely pattern from Knitty.com, Azure.  It looks like a fun knit. And, while I usually wind my yarn back into a skein after dyeing, this is all wound and ready to knit. It’s calling me… can you hear it?

And is if that were not enough, I had another parcel waiting for me on my return home too! This one was won off a blog competition, at another Kiwi’s blog.  It took a somewhat circuitous route to my house, having spent a several week hiatus stashed under her sewing table (along with a huge bag of other parcels including a bunch of Christmas presents meant for overseas…) So, this is well rested yarn.

Oh, and what a lovely skein of delicious 50% silk 50% merino squishy goodness it is too.  Jolie has got a wee shop on Etsy where she sells some of her productive efforts – this is one of her colourways, called Persephone. Again, this was hard to capture the subtlety of the colours, a lovely semi-solid green mix as befits the queen of the underworld.

and inside…

These beautiful, light colours are such a contrast to so many of the skeins I have in my stash already and seem perfect to knit up in the hot weather we are having right now. Such a delight.  So tempting. I have a lot to be thankful for – and you have to love good mail days.

6 Responses to “A good mail day”


  1. 1 Susan L February 4, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    they are absolutely gorgeous … I wouldn’t be able to leave for work until I’d unwrapped them too. happy knitting.

  2. 2 Kate February 5, 2010 at 2:20 am

    Love the yarn! What a wonderful surprise it must have been!

  3. 3 Caffeine Girl February 5, 2010 at 3:47 am

    Free yarn. Life doesn’t get any better than that!

    Both yarns are just beautiful. I’m really liking semi-solids these days, and those look like perfect specimens!

  4. 4 Virginia February 5, 2010 at 3:52 am

    Oooh… pretty yarn. *drools*

    I love it!

  5. 5 Lina February 5, 2010 at 5:32 am

    Pretty yarn! I love getting packages too! 🙂

  6. 6 mazzygirls February 6, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Pretty!
    I’ve got BWM Luxury on my needles at the moment and am loving the feel of it – my first overseas wool purchase. Love the yarny love!


Leave a Reply

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 340,291 hits

