FO: Kai Mei Socks

Right, so I finally got an *actual* pair of socks completed. Aren’t I good? 

Yes, now my blogiversary winner can look forward to not one, but *two* socks arriving in her letterbox any day. Well, after I send them anyway. Super exciting!

So, my lovely winner has teeny tiny feet. Lucky me – I know some entries came in from people apologetic for having size 10 feet.  I therefore adapted the pattern accordingly. The Kai Mei pattern has 66 stitches, but having knit it a couple of times before I could see it would be easy enough to knit with 60 stitches. I downsized everything else accordingly – ie the heel flap is knit on 30 stitches not 33, and it seems to have worked well. The proof will be in the wearing though I guess.

It is my first time knitting with Araucania Ranco. I bought a couple of skeins of their solid sock yarn late last year, this lovely green and a pretty pink skein. I already have a Sunset colour of their Multy yarn in my stash too,  so it’s good to actually knit with it. The verdict? Not as soft and lovely as some yarns, but the price was definitely right, the colour is delightful, and it was nice to knit with – not splity or any of the bad stuff. I think it shows off the pattern nicely too. I have to confess to thinking the colour would be more slightly semi-solid than it is. There are slight variations, but they are certainly not dominant in any way. Very pretty overall though.

My own pair of socks is coming along nicely too. They would be coming along even faster if I hadn’t got distracted and cast on a shawl over the weekend. But that’s another story for another day 🙂

7 Responses to “FO: Kai Mei Socks”


  1. 1 Caffeine Girl February 9, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Your Kai Mei turned out so well. Your winner is very lucky! I’m trying to hold off and not cast on for Kai Mei until I finish Glynis. Your photos make me want to cast on right now!

  2. 2 Virginia February 9, 2010 at 3:24 am

    Those are absolutely gorgeous! Love them.

  3. 3 Nikki February 9, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Ooooh! Love them!

  4. 4 'Marmitey' February 9, 2010 at 10:46 am

    I’ve made a few pairs of socks but I’m never happy with them.. I always end up with a bit of a gappy line between the join of each needle (if that makes sense?)…so frustrating! Do you have any advice as to how I can avoid the gappy line? I figured seeing as how your socks turned out so well, you might have some words of wisdom 🙂

  5. 5 Kate February 9, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Beautiful! You are a truly generous knitter to give away socks as beautiful as that! What a lucky winner!

  6. 6 Darcy February 9, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    I love the socks so pretty:) Hugs Darcy

  7. 7 Sue (dodgums) February 18, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    shorty I really like these they are cool. well done. Where did you find the patern? I would like to make some 🙂


Leave a Reply

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 341,360 hits

