More Yarn Swap Goodness

 You saw my lovely yarny mail last week, and now that my parcel has arrived on the other side of the Tasman, I am able to show you what I sent. But first, a word about swaps.

The yarn swaps that I have been participating in are from within a group on a forum that I belong to. I guess I’ve been a member for about four years now, and in that time I have had the chance to get to know some of the ladies there quite well. Other newbies have come on board, and so when you sign up for a swap, sometimes you draw a virtual stranger, and sometimes it is someone you know quite well. A few years ago, the funniest thing happened – my two very good friends from the forum who both live locally somehow managed to get *each other* and their families for a Christmas swap. Oh my, I just about burst by the time I was asked by one to *deliver* the box of gifts to the other.  Too funny.

Anyway, I was stoked to get the name of an old forum friend who hasn’t been online much lately.  Our big girls were born on the same day, so I have always had a special connection to her. I was delighted to have the chance to send her a parcel, and decided that I wanted it to be something focused on her. With two youngsters, all too often the gifts seem to focus on them. So, hers was a parcel of selfish treats.

 Some chocolately treasts for when the sun goes down. And the yarn – I dyed up 100g of Vintage Purls sock yarn, which dyes so beautifully. I kettle dyed the yarn, first with crimson, and then overdyed it with shades of salmon and indigo in order to come with the colours of a sunset.

This particular swap was all for sock yarn, and it was so much fun to realise so many of my online friends are now sock knitting addicts too. I have to confess that I’ve recieved some rather odd looks in the staffroom at lunchtime on the occasions when I’ve taken my knitting in to work. So, while my co-workers may think I am a little odd, by online friendships reassure me that it’s perfectly normal to feel odd if you don’t have a supply of yarn and a pair of needles close at hand.

4 Responses to “More Yarn Swap Goodness”


  1. 1 mazzygirls February 11, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    Lovely swap, I bet she was pleased.
    I took my knitting to book club last week, but only did so because there were two other ladies there who I regularly knit with so I knew they’d support me. Funnily enough, about three other people outed themselves as closet knitters, and all wanted to know about circular knitting because they hadn’t tried it but wanted to (I was knitting Bloom). Very cool to find fellow yarn addicts!

  2. 2 Virginia February 12, 2010 at 12:57 am

    The yarn you dyed is gorgeous!

    I understand about the coworkers looking at you like you’re nuts. I have the same issue. And I get lots of comments like “oh, that’s so… motherly.”

    GRR.

  3. 3 Caffeine Girl February 12, 2010 at 3:29 am

    Your dyed sock yarn is beautiful!

    I’ve gotten to the point where I take sock yarn everywhere and ignore any odd looks!

  4. 4 Anne February 13, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Thanks for your lovely words, and for the lovely package. I feel the same! 🙂


Leave a Reply

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 339,907 hits

