Summer Sock Club

 I was really good this year, and didn’t sign up for the Vintage Purls Summer Sock club. Oh, but I sooo had to sign up for the Needlefood club! I hadn’t heard about sign up for the last couple of clubs but managed to hear about this one in advance – a specific time was announced, and I (absolutely co-incidentally, I swear) happened to check that day about the right time and secured myself a slot.  I hadn’t purchased off Michelle at Needlefood before, but I got a sample from her in the recent Blendy’s Box, and got a lovely skein for Christmas too.  But I had heard good things, so I thought it was worth a punt.

From what I have seen of the website, the sock yarn Needlefood does comes in semi-solids or variegated yarns. I do have a preference for semi-solids, and hope that we get one in one of the parcels. However, I do love this cute colourway called “There’s Flowers in my Salad”.  It has a lovely mix of greens, pinks, some slightly orange tones and browns.

There are no patterns included in the package, so it’s up to me to decide what to knit with this yarn (or if I just stash it for a while, which I am thinking of for now). 

There are, however, lots of lovely goodies in the package – an emery board and holder, some hand cream, edible goodies, and a lovely set of stitch markers and a big ring to hold them – it is a lovely parcel and was a delight to receive.

Speaking of delightful, I finally took piccies of the yarn I got in our swap last week.

Lizzie used food colouring to dye this – I think she said she did the bright colours first and then overdyed with black – quite an extraordinarily clever colourway.  This is 100g of hand dyed yarn on a Vintage Purls sock yarn base. Delicious!

6 Responses to “Summer Sock Club”


  1. 1 Hannah February 26, 2010 at 9:28 am

    very very cool yarn Sheryl 🙂

  2. 2 Sam February 26, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    oool nice parcel!

    Loving the big ring to hold stich markers idea

    so any thoughts on a pattern? or stash until a match comes to mind?

  3. 3 sara February 26, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    I really like the black over day/colorful one!

  4. 4 mum2girls February 26, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Ooooooohhh I look forward to seeing how that black on knits up. Very cleaver! The other yarn looks yummy to. Your one lucky lady.

  5. 5 Pipi February 28, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    OOh thats a yummy looking parcel! Love the colours too, delicious.

  6. 6 ~buzzybee~ March 5, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Oooh – Michelle’s colour co-ordinated the mentos and stitch markers with her yarn!


Leave a Reply

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 341,360 hits

