UGH?

When do you frog a project? At what stage do you call it quits with a project when something about it doesn’t seem quite right?

Meet my Monkey sock.

I really wanted to knit up this yarn I got in a recent swap and I thought that the Monkey socks would be a good pattern for the yarn. What I wasn’t counting on what the fact that the yarn is actually striping like a variegated yarn. And I don’t like it. I don’t like it in this sock pattern particularly – it seems to be fighting with the lace pattern. And at the moment, neither one is winning!

So, I have to make a decision – to knit or to frog?

In favour of frogging – I could rip this back in just a matter of minutes, if I could just stop thinking about how much knitting has gone into this already.

In favour of knitting – I have done about two thirds of one sock already, so am *almost* half way there – that’s a lot of knitting done already!

In favour of frogging – but what’s the point of continuing to knit something you don’t like?

In favour of knitting – well, could I turn it into something I like? I have been having rebellious thoughts. Thoughts of trying to maybe strip the dye back somehow and then redye, maybe with a dark purple, to try and make it more of a semi-solid look. Hmmm.  I figure that this might make a lovely pair of socks – the base yarn is Vintage Purls sock yarn, so it is well worth preserving with.

In favour of frogging – but someone hand dyed the yarn for me! 

Oh dear.

So around in circles I go in my decision making.  So far that’s meant this sock has taken a week long hibernation. I knit a few rows on it tonight – maybe it will get done after all. I guess you will need to watch this space.

11 Responses to “UGH?”


  1. 1 Benjamin March 15, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    If you think it’s not working it’s probably not.

    You say you’d be sad about losing 2/3 of a sock. I’d be sadder about knitting the next 4/3 and then discovering I *still* didn’t like it.

    The yarn looks lovely. As does the lace. But if it’s not clicking in your head, it’s not clicking.

    You have my full sympathy, I frogged TOO MUCH today. It is heart breaking.

  2. 2 mamakass March 16, 2010 at 1:01 am

    I hate that moment too. It has happened to me many-a-time. And whenever I didn’t frog, I ended up hating the project anyway and wishing I had just frogged when I knew I didn’t like it.
    Particularly since that colorway is so gorgeous and someone hand-dyed it for you, I think you should save the yarn for a pattern you love it in.

  3. 3 ~buzzybee~ March 16, 2010 at 8:38 am

    My motto is ‘if in doubt, rip it out’
    It took me about 35 years to come to that conclusion – lol! But I find it applies to almost everything – knitting, sewing, home decorating, writing…
    And I’ve found the sooner you do it, the better!

  4. 4 Kate March 16, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    I think that if you like the way the yarn is working up, and the problem is with the colors, you should keep going and if you still don’t like it dye over it.

    If you don’t like anything about the sock, get rid of it! Life is too short to knit things we don’t like!

  5. 5 Jane March 16, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Wow, that’s always tough. The sock looks really nice. I agree with Kate. If you’ve hibernated and still don’t like it, rip it.

  6. 6 Caffeine Girl March 16, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    The yarn is too beautiful to waste or overdye. If you don’t like it, rip it.

    Although, I like the way the striping looks! Of course, I’m not the one wearing or knitting it!

  7. 7 Kristy Copland March 17, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Frog it 🙂

  8. 8 Anne March 17, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Hmmm … maybe it would look nice as a scarf or shawl? With a longer pattern repeat?

  9. 9 Hannah March 18, 2010 at 8:55 am

    hehe i actually LOVE how they are turning out 😉

  10. 10 Sam March 19, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    its a hard one!

    what about gifting? .. or a blog giveaway? — obviously there are people whom love them just as they are 😉

    or frog back … but then what to knit that doesn’t have the same pattern happening?

    as much as we all love hand dyed yarns i think at times there will always be that skein that you just don’t know what to knit with it .. or isn’t quite you .. we are all human after all

  11. 11 Kate Salisbury-Metcalfe March 20, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Frog it, it’d be scrummy as a shawl :-).


Leave a Reply

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

