More Malabrigo

 

This past summer, Miss 3 has been very attached to a pretty pink summer sunhat with a cap brim. She has looked so adorable in it that it got me thinking about whether it was possible to knit her a winter hat with a brim. A quick search on Ravelry revealled a good number of patterns. Looking futher I found some options that seemed suitable, and I eventually chose a free pattern called the Capitan hat.

I like this wee pattern because of the cute cables on the front, the lovely wee details, and the super knitted brim.  The finishing touches with the front strip and buttons were something that appealed too. I found these cute heart buttons at my LYS, and at only 25 cents each they were a bargain.  The pattern was logically set out and accurate, although I did have an issue with the brim instructions. One row of instructions said PM instead of SM – that is, place markers. I already *had* markers from the previous row, and then I got all confuddled when I was taking the extra one out. And I ended up with my increases in different places on each side and had to rip it back. But given it was only about 10 minutes work, it was not a huge deal.  Overall, this was knit up in just a couple of sessions of knitting – maybe three or so hours all up. Certainly an easy knit for when you are in company or a bit too tired to concentrate on a pattern.

The yarn: stash yarn of course! This is lovely Malabrigo Worsted in Vermillion which is left over from Christmas gift knitting. I had 56g and hoped like crazy it would be enough. I have 8g left over.  The reason I was not sure how much it would take was because the pattern is written for a chunky yarn, and for an adult head. I had worsted weight yarn and a child’s head.  I subbed in 5mm needles, but other than that I knit the pattern as written. It is not a long hat though, and I think it could do with being longer – especially if you want the wearer to have warm ears!  Miss 1 fits it perfectly. She seems to think she needs one as well.

What a great way to knit up a wee bit of stash yarn – I suspect this pattern runs small, so if you are intending to knit it, I’d add an extra repeat in the back. But this is just perfect for a kid’s knit – yay a woolen hat that they actually want to wear 🙂

5 Responses to “More Malabrigo”


  1. 1 Lisa Liddell March 28, 2010 at 1:09 am

    I am in love with this hat!

  2. 2 knitterlyanne March 28, 2010 at 8:17 am

    That hat is adorable, and you did a really great job of photographing it. There are enough angles to be really useful in terms of understanding the hat – and your little one looks so darn cute!

  3. 4 Virginia March 30, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmalabrigo! Love it so much.

    The hat is supercute! So is the model.

  4. 5 Renee May 11, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Olivia would love a winter hat like this, just wish I was clever enough to knit it and had the time.


Leave a Reply

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,004 hits

