Buying Yarn

I’ve been very good lately.  I haven’t been buying much yarn, and I haven’t been increasing my stash. I did, however, take a trip to my two local yarn shops last week. And what a depressing experience it was.

This coming weekend is my mother’s birthday. I had decided on a pattern and yarn weight and colour to knit it up in as a present for her.  You would think that with a choice of two shops I would be able to find something pretty and tempting. Instead I left with a very ordinary yarn, which I was disappointed in. I wish we had better selections available in our local stores.

But the best thing to do when you have a disappointing yarn buying experience is to cleanse the palate with something tastier. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. So, here is the first installment which arrived in my mailbox today 🙂

Knitsch yarns is a brand new NZ indie dyer of sock yarn. And I am loving these two colourways that I bought on their scrumptious 100% merino base.  The top is Izzy, lovely blues and purples together. And the pink colourway is Sunrise on Snow, which is a cute mix of colours I just know will appeal to my wee Misses.  All the skeins look beautfully dyed and presented. The service was extremely prompt – I ordered and paid on Tuesday and on Thursday I had my parcel.  I also got a prompt and polite email acknowledging my order. 

Included in my parcel was this lovely selection of handmade cards and some envelopes to fit.  Each card features a photograph which has been machine sewn onto a card – what a fabulous idea. I love the pictures, and what a great gift to include – thanks!

You can check out Knitsch’s online store here.

Hmmm, not sure when I will be casting this on though – I am part-way through sock #4 of my new sock pattern that I am working on, as well as just starting the second front panel of the test knit I am doing. Oh, but the temptation is great!!

3 Responses to “Buying Yarn”


  1. 1 Hannah April 2, 2010 at 8:09 am

    wow sheryl what gorgeous yarn!!!!
    To be hinest, i have never set foot inside knitworld here as i though there are lots of online shopes to get prettier yarn! hehe

  2. 2 Sara April 2, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    Very gorgeous yarn! Drool!

  3. 3 Jane April 3, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Very pretty colorways! Happy Easter!


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

