Easter Treats

Good Friday marked the end of the teaching term for me and DH. So our household is feeling a bit more lighthearted than on a usual long weekend. The girls and I got busy in the kitchen making a batch of Hot Cross Buns this morning. Miss 1 crashed for a massive nap before she got to shape any. Miss 3 made up for it though 🙂

 See how flour covered Miss 3 is at this point!! 

And when they were both tucked up safely for their naps (yay for tired girls who take loooong naps!) I was able to make these cute wee Easter Baskets for the girls. (I resisted the urge to make one for DS, who really wouldn’t appreciate one!)

I found a link to a tutorial for these bags on a forum I frequent, and was inspired to make them as I knew I could whip them up from stash.  All you need is about 15×8 inches of felt, a few buttons, and some contrasting or complementary felt to make the flowers from. My felt wasn’t quite the right dimensions, but I figured that the girls won’t be getting a huge haul of eggs to stash in them, so size wouldn’t matter too much!

Making the handles out of a different colour felt helped too 🙂  I love the vintage buttons from my button stash too. Too cute!

I suspect Miss 3 will snaffle this spotty one because it has pink flowers.

Which means Miss 1 will get this red number. You can see the seam details in these pictures – the are sewn on the right side and seams trimmed with pinking shears when they are done – a lovely idea to finish felt nicely.

We are looking forward to more enjoyable family time over the next few days. DS goes away early next week to stay with his grandparents so we are trying to enjoy these special days while we can. I hope that you and your families enjoy a blessed Easter season.

2 Responses to “Easter Treats”


  1. 1 Julia aka j-j April 3, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Damn, I’m guessing it’s too late for me to knit up and felt a couple of bags for the kids in my household! Must remember to do this in a moment of quiet for next year as they look so lovely!

  2. 2 Virginia April 7, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    I didn’t know there were actually such a thing as hot cross buns!

    I thought they were just a random phrase from a song. 🙂

    Looks like you all had a lovely Easter!


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

