FO: Calvados

Another test knit from me – I seem to be testing left and right at the moment. But I was delighted to be invited to test knit this lovely cardigan for Babycocktails.  Called “Calvados“, this is  a great wee pattern – an asymmetrical cardigan, with lovely chunky cables and a ribbed collar.   I knit mine with the Jo Sharp Silk Road Tweed yarn that I bought at the Knitworld sale in January. I had scored 14 balls at half price. I used 12.5 balls for the cardigan, and I whipped up a beret to match out of the leftovers – I need to make room in my stash for all these other goodies that will be arriving soon 🙂

I ended up sewing the fronts of the cardigan together, as it was a little floppy after blocking, but otherwise this is knit just as per the pattern. It is so lovely and snuggly, and I can see that it will get a lot of wear over the winter months – perfect for work I think.

There is a cute wee belt detail on the back – it is knit separately and added at the end.

The garment itself is knit in pieces and then seamed together – not my favourite construction method, but given it is such a big garment, and the weather is not super cool here, it suited the circumstances. There is some cute A-line shaping as well as waist shaping, and the pattern gives an option for bust shaping as well – heaps of options. 

Keep your eyes out for the pattern release – I will hopefully remember to let you know when it comes out.

9 Responses to “FO: Calvados”


  1. 1 Caffeine Girl April 8, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    That is a stunning design. And the yarn is so pretty! I really like the strong vertical lines that the cable makes.

    The matching beret is the perfect final touch!

  2. 2 Sara April 8, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Great pattern and you did a great job on it 🙂

  3. 3 Judy April 9, 2010 at 4:11 am

    Love, love, love! That might be one of my most favourite fo’s of yours!

    Your hair is getting long! I just got a heap cut off mine… I miss it.

    • 4 shortly24 April 10, 2010 at 12:35 am

      I’m due for a haircut – am seeing my lovely hairdresser on Tuesday, so hopefully I will be with you on the missing a big heap of hair early next week 😉

  4. 5 thea April 9, 2010 at 5:58 am

    Love the hat details. The cables look great as they decrease down the top — I answered your email before checking in on the blog. It’s perfect!

    Thanks again – it does look amazing on you 🙂

  5. 6 Hannah April 9, 2010 at 9:17 am

    wow Sheryl it looks gorgeous now its finished!!! especially love the back detailing

  6. 7 sarah April 9, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Looking gorgeous, Sheryl! How funny we both ended up using the same yarn, I bought mine in a Knitworld sale a few years ago. I’ve been thinking of a hat with my left over 2 balls too. Now must sew the buttons on mine!

  7. 8 Virginia April 13, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    That’s lovely! And flattering. 🙂

    Can’t wait for the pattern. But don’t know as I’d ever get un-lazy enough to do the belt thingy on the back.


  1. 1 Calvados Beret Pattern « Shortly Stitches Trackback on May 15, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,998 hits

