Incoming!

The results of my recent yarn buying spree have been coming in to my mailbox over the last few days. So I thought that I would share the pictures of these yummies with you.

First up is the first thing I ordered –  some goodies from an 100 Pure Wool co-op.

I ordered a couple of skeins of their 3ply worsted yarn, just to see what it is like and how it knits up. They are earmarked to add to the stash so I can avoid the yarn-buying crises that arises when I need to knit a gift fast. Following my yarn-buying philosophy from last year, I want to buy things that I will be happy to find in my stash, and to be able to use it for a variety of small projects. These filled the brief nicely, and were super cheap to boot. Go the co-ops!

I also ordered two skeins of 4ply yarn, which I got superwash treated too – it’s another $2US a skein, but I thought it prudent in case these end up as socks. The colourways are Mares (the blue) and Melancholia (the pink).  I wanted something different to what I already had stashed, and these are every bit as lovely as I was hoping.

The other box of yarny goodness was from WEBS. I went on a MadelineTosh buying spree, and this is the result.

6 skeins of Vermillion Tosh DK earmarked for my next sweater.  I am a teensy bit anxious about the fact these look nearly solid – not what I was expecting. I am hoping they knit up a little bit more semi-solid than they appear. Not that it will make a lot of difference to the finished object, but it was what I was expecting from the pictures of FOs on Ravelry.

3 skeins of Tosh Vintage, the new worsted weight offering. The Baltic in the middle is for something for me. The skein on the left  is to stash, and the ball on the right is to knit a gift for a swap I am doing soon. 

And finally, a skein of Scarlet in their nearly solid sock yarn. It is super squooshy, and I cast on straight away for a Branigan shawlette.  It is knitting up beautifully, and it will be so delicious to wear. The reason for casting on so soon was this…

Yep, I abandoned my last Branigan. Iwasn’t 100% sold on the yarn – it was a tiny bit scratchy – and when I encountered some knots, my patience with it started to disappear. But by the time I had found SIX knots, the last four within less than 8 rows, I decided that the knitting universe had a bit of a message for me. I think this yarn needs a new person to love it. Because it just makes me want to snip it into hundreds of tiny bits. (Ooh, there’s a good idea – I could send it to preschool for collage supplies!!).  Anyway, I love love my MadelineTosh version a hundred times more 🙂

8 Responses to “Incoming!”


  1. 1 Heather April 16, 2010 at 1:43 am

    What truly lovely yarns. I especially love the Baltic color. Too yummy!

  2. 2 Lina April 16, 2010 at 5:18 am

    Nice haul! I love Madelinetosh too, and you will love how they knit up. 🙂

    I’m not sure on Vermillion being semi-solid or not… it will be beautiful either way, I think.

  3. 3 Alexandra April 16, 2010 at 8:08 am

    Oh wow! Beautiful yarn! I love the pink one!

  4. 4 Sharonnz April 16, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Keen to see how the Madeline Tosh knits up. Wondering about it for a cardy for me. Might have to visit to fondle your stash next time we’re in town;-)

  5. 5 neak April 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Drool worthy! 😆

  6. 6 thea April 16, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Plenty to keep you busy! Love the red MT – even if it’s not as vareigated as you thought, bet it’s soft and squishy…

  7. 8 Faraway April 19, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Man what I wouldn’t give to be a stash fairy – I’d chose to live at your place amongst all those snuggly wools 🙂


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 338,625 hits

