Better than a bought one

Last week I went shopping looking for some winter clothes for work. I was really surprised to see that across the board, the shops are offering plain coloured or striped tops, merino or cotton, and knitwear over the top (or suit jackets which don’t work with my job).  The thought of parting with cash to buy a mass produced piece of knitwear, made from inferior yarn – or worse, acrylic, made me think I had to be able to do better than that!  I had a quick hunt through Ravelry’s pattern database, and my stash and came up with a neat free pattern called Rosa’s Sleeveless Cardi.  It uses 12 ply yarn, huge needles, is knit seamlessly from the top down, and has really simple lines.  In my stash was some soft merino possum yarn that needed a project, and a match was made.

This only took three days to knit up, and took around 300g (less than 570m) of yarn.

After the raglan increases, you knit straight for 30cm and then start increases that create an interesting side detail and funky hem.  Despite the lack of increases, the loose gauge makes this a very flattering fit.

The pattern is for small/medium, which I am not. It gave another cast on size for a large, and I worked with this number, adding further increases to 20 rows, and then casting on a couple of stitches under the arms too.  I knit an extra 5cm in length, and also a couple more increases to get the length I wanted. This did grow a little on washing, so perhaps that was unnecessary.  I didn’t need to block this much – just a wash and then I lay it out in the sun – yay for easy-care garments!

I’m pleased that I knit this up, I hope that it gets lots of wear over the coming cold months. It should make a nice addition to my winter wardrobe – warm but light.

9 Responses to “Better than a bought one”


  1. 1 sarahbean April 17, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Nice!!!

  2. 3 Amybel April 17, 2010 at 3:32 am

    I’m so glad you knit this! I myself looked at this same pattern just a week or two ago. Love how yours came out!

  3. 4 Jo April 17, 2010 at 8:07 am

    I really really like that, nice and simple and it’s exactly what I have been looking for. Now, do I think I can knit this up ummmmm, maybe 🙂 It’s also very flattering 🙂

  4. 5 Sharonnz April 17, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Oooh likies…goes to dig out 12ply languishing in stash;-)

  5. 6 Pookee April 17, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Thats lovely – I think I’ll put that in my queue

  6. 8 Nikki April 17, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Ooooo I like it too! Good work 😀

  7. 9 Sara April 17, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    I love it! You look great!


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 342,207 hits

