FO: Branigan Shawl

**warning** **This post contains rave reviews of both patterns and yarn. Skip the text of this post if you want to avoid temptation.**

There! You can’t say that I didn’t warn you. But, oh, I am so glad that today has dawned slightly overcast and shows some promise of rain. Because it is a perfect day to wear my new shawl. I think I’m going to wear it like this.

Right – so, some vital statistics.

The pattern:Branigan by Bronwyn Parry

The yarn: Madelinetosh Tosh Sock (95g)

The colourway: Scarlet

The verdict: To die for

Need I say more?

Ooookay.  Um, where to start? The pattern is well written and easy to follow. It offers the lace pattern both in chart and uncharts. I chose to follow the uncharts because I had such a pleasant experience with them on my last shawl. Great! Easy to tell exactly where you are up to, what is repeated and where – plus with the charts there too, you can see a visual representation of the pattern if and when you want to.

The lace portion of this shawl is ridiculously easy. There are just the basic lace manoeuvres, no fancy p3tog to slow you down. All purl rows are purled, so you get a rest from patterning, and the repeats line up nicely so you can always visualise where you are up to in the row and see any mistakes easily (like a missing yo for example. Me, miss an occasional yo? Yup, the secret is out!)  I knit this with no lifeline, it just wasn’t necessary. Yep, I knit this with no ripping back whatsoever.  The occasional tink, yes, ripping no 🙂

See, I told you that this was a rave review!!

The pattern comes with three sizes, and this generously sized beauty is the small!  It used almost all of my yarn. The pattern calls for 2 repeats of chart A, 3 of unchart B (one of the chart) and then one edging chart. I wasn’t sure how my yarn useage would go, so I only knit chart A once. Then I knit chart B the required three times, and weighed my yarn. Heaps left! At four repeats I still had 50g left, so I knit a fifth repeat, making this the same number of rows as if I had done chart A twice. Then I went on to the edging chart and was confident I had enough yarn. This proved to be the case, but I am glad I had my scales for peace of mind – once I knew I was using 2g for a row, I knew there was plenty to last.

The yarn is so incredibly lovely to work with, I just want more! This was my total splurge though, so I might have to wait and perhaps line my sister’s suitcase with Tosh Sock if she comes for a visit. If waiting is indeed possible.  The retail at WEBS is $26.70US which is discountable (20%) in a  larger purchase ($60 or more or 25% if you spend over $120).  Plus postage to NZ. But totally worth every penny. When I handed the shawl around at knitting night last night, one lady (a spinner too) was in awe of how incredibly soft it was, and thought it must contain silk. It is soft and really drapey. I’m just not sure I cuuld ever use this yarn on socks, it is so nice as a shawl. The colourway is nearly solid with enough variation to be interesting but it doesn’t detract from the lace pattern at all. 

So yes, this yarn should really come with a warning: dangerously addictive.  Sorry if you were avoiding it, I’m not being very helpful, am I?

6 Responses to “FO: Branigan Shawl”


  1. 1 Sharonnz April 21, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Gorgy!! And that colour is really smart on you. (Oh Lordy – I hope if the sister ever does fly south that she gives us plenty of warning so I can sneak a skein or two in!)

  2. 2 chevgirl April 21, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Oh wow love the photos and generous review – NOW I want to try it! Love the size of it especially being the small size!

  3. 4 Hannah April 21, 2010 at 10:35 am

    super duper gorgy as i said last night 🙂 AWSOME for a sock yarn skein as it comes out massive!

  4. 5 Sara April 21, 2010 at 11:40 am

    It’s really lovely!

  5. 6 'Marmitey' April 21, 2010 at 11:52 am

    It’s a pain in the behind how expensive nice wool is eh. I wish we had more of a selection of quality wools in NZ. That’s not to say we don’t have a few nice quality wools here but, y’know. I guess I’m a bit over going into Knitworld and all I see is Cleckheaton. And as for the 10ply selection, don’t get me started!

    Anyhoo, I have majorly gone off the topic, I love your shawl 🙂 and I agree, that wool looks like it was worth every penny 🙂


Leave a Reply

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 341,000 hits

