Simple Things

A few weeks ago I was stumped by the first installment of my Needlefood sock club yarn. I tried knitting it into a sock. The pooling drove me batty.  I frogged it.  And then looked at the yarn, waiting for it to tell me what it wanted to be. 

Something simple.

And so that’s what it became.  A Simple Thing.

I did one major modification in knitting this – the pattern calls for increases only on the right row (4 in total). I increased these 4, and also increased 2 stitches on the wrong side row, making a longer scarf  to allow for wrapping more.  This also made it shallower, and so I knit an extra set of the pattern repeat.

I have signed up for umpteen swaps many of which are due about now, so this is going to be rehomed in the near future 🙂 But I am glad that the yarn became something pretty before it left to find a new home.

4 Responses to “Simple Things”


  1. 1 topperarnold May 5, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Well done. It’s gorgeous.

  2. 2 Jane May 5, 2010 at 3:09 am

    It is adorable! I love how it looks wrapped around your neck!

  3. 3 Amybel May 5, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    The colors look nicely combined in that pattern. Someone will be very lucky!

  4. 4 Delwyn May 6, 2010 at 11:42 am

    How about a possible belated birthday present? Maybe for a sister??

    Love it,
    Delwyn


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 339,830 hits

