Happy Mothers’ Day

Happy Mothers’ Day to all my lovely Mummy friends! I know it’s not Mothers’ Day in many countries, but I thought that I’d share these lovely flowers with you nonetheless. Yup, Dh did good!

And he’s not the only one. A bunch of online buddies and I decided to repeat our Mothers’ Day swap from last year.  We had such fun last year, a special acknowledgement of our common link as mothers, and a celebration of our ongoing friendships. This year I got my gift several days in advance, and I was sooo good. I didn’t even open the box, just in case it wasn’t wrapped. Nooothing to do with the electrical tape it was taped up with keeping me honest either! True!

Oh, but the surprise when I opened it up and found… this!

I am utterly in awe, have no idea how she managed to score some Wollmeise and utterly in love with the colourway. I haven’t a clue where to start with thinking of what to knit with this and would love some suggestions – so comment away please!

Part of the parcel I sent included another of the hats I have knit lately. This is another Crooked Paths beret, and I really enjoyed knitting this patern for a second time.  I used the gorgeous Madelinetosh Vintage yarn in the colourway Lepidoptra.  I loved the crisp stitch definition, the squooshiness of the yarn, the way it knitted up and the way it blocked. I sure hope that it is well loved at its new home – I didn’t *love* the colourway in the skein too much, but knitted up it was simply gorgeous.

I think that this is going to be one of my go-to patterns for gift knits, super cute, well written with easy to follow instructions and it’s simple enough to knit up in just a couple of days. And the yarn – well, I feel really lucky that I have a skein or two in my stash waiting for its turn to be knit up into something special just for me.
1 Response to “Happy Mothers’ Day”


  1. 1 Renee May 11, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    I love the Beret!!! looks so warm and stylish


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

