Calvados Beret Pattern

It’s amazing how you can find time to do things like work on finessing a pattern for release when you’re procrastinating. This week was senior report week at school, which means about 3000 words for each class needed to be written and results entered – everything is done electronically these days.  It is certainly the sort of thing that makes you want to bury your head in the sand and do something a lot more creative.  So working on this pattern was the perfect antidote.

I loaded up the Calvados Beret Pattern onto Ravelry for sale last night.  If you have been following my blog for a while you will probably recognise the hat above from when I first knit this pattern up. The first sample was knit from the same Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran Tweed yarn as my Calvados cardigan.  This gorgeous cardigan pattern was released this week too which gave me the incentive to complete writing up my beret pattern.  The final tweaking that I did was to add more uncharts. I first came across uncharts when I was knitting up my Nightsongs shawl. There is clearly interest in uncharts in the knitting community – my blog hits make for interesting reading at times and this post still draws a handful of visitors every day.  Therefore all cable pattern is available as both a chart and an unchart, and the crown decreases are available both written and in an unchart. I hope that people enjoy the uncharts that I’ve included!

The second sample was knit in Malabrigo Worsted, and took just 65g of yarn. It is soft and deliciously floppy to wear. The pattern calls for the body of the hat to be knit on 4.5mm needles which maintains a firm fabric on the worsted weight yarn but would be suitable for Dk weight yarn too. 

Now that my reports are written and these two patterns are written up and published, I have no excuse not to be working on my Masters thesis… But watch this space for more patterns in the future, some of which are in development, some are just drawings, and others mere thoughts. In the meantime, I want to thank you for your lovely comments on the Dolce Beret pattern release.  It’s awesome to see people loading up their projects onto Ravelry and seeing the different colours and yarns and how the finished hats look – check out the gallery, there are some seriously cute projects being loaded. Keep an eye out tomorrow for a giveaway post that might see you wearing or knitting your own beret to one of my patterns – a special thankyou to you all  🙂

4 Responses to “Calvados Beret Pattern”


  1. 1 Kate May 15, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    Wow another fab pattern! Well done. I love the cables in this one. On my to do list soon.

  2. 2 thea May 16, 2010 at 1:23 am

    Amazing response to Dolce! Congrats on a instant hit. I do love watching projects pop up.

    Am sure the Calvados will be the same – I’ll be sure to blog about it next week 🙂 Have fun with the patterns – you definitely have a knack for it!

  3. 3 Kath May 16, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    WOW another stunning pattern! Can’t wait to see what else you come up with. Might even convince myself I’m brave enough to knit a beret 😉

  4. 4 nova May 17, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    go you, you clever lady!! 😀


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,921 hits

