FO: Olearia

The lovely Miss 3 is well known around these parts for being the most enthusiastic cheerleader for my knitting projects for her, and then rejecting them totally once they are knit. My solution? Well, very girly pink yarn seems to have worked this time.

The lovely pattern Olearia was released at the beginning of May by Tikki, of the Milo vest fame. I had missed out on being chosen as a tester for this pattern, which was a shame as I had the perfect yarn all lined up. So, like other keen people knitting for the girls in their lives, I bought the pattern on the day it was released and cast on that night. 

The pattern offers three options – one is a shrug with cap sleeves. The second option is a cardigan with either long sleeves or cap sleeves, which has garter ridges on the top part of the cardigan only.  The third option is also a cardigan but has the ridges on the entire body.  I chose the second option, as I didn’t want anything too fussy. And just cap sleeves too, it makes it a good versatile weight for wearing here as our winters don’t  tend to sustained cold patches. 

The yarn that I used is one I bought at a wee yarn shop near Tirau when I was travelling that way earlier this year.  It is sold in 600g hanks, and I split one with a friend.  It is a DK weight yarn called Ridgevale, and it is a Romney yarn spun from their own flock of sheep and treated in a worsted treatment. The result isn’t the snuggliest yarn I’ve knit with, but it makes a nice soft final product. Soft enough for my fussy miss anyway!

I knit a size 3T for the young lady, and added a inch or so in length so that it will last her a bit longer.   The finished garment weighs 135g, fairly economical on yarn, and of course that means I have lots of yarn left over for more pink projects.

None of these pictures seem to capture the essential detail that captured the young lady’s heart though – it is finished off by the best buttons ever – pink *and* sparkly! Yes, these babies have glitter inside.  Miss 3 and I went button shopping and there really could be no other choice.  I did finish knitting this quickly and you saw blocking pictures of it last week.  The buttons were bought the next day and then Miss 3 was sick for several days and photos were postphoned. Today it was chosen for an outing outdoors so it seemed like the perfect opportunity to get the camera out. It has been raining all day today and all day yesterday. At least 50mm according to the weather website, but however much it is, you can imagine that cabin fever starts to set in after a while. So we donned our gumboots for a sojorn (and photoshoot) outside.

Bike riding – and puddle jumping!

And little sister joined in too!

3 Responses to “FO: Olearia”


  1. 1 Caffeine Girl May 17, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Darling! You make me wish I had been a knitter when my girl was small!

  2. 2 topperarnold May 17, 2010 at 1:52 am

    Seriously cute knitting and adorable children! I, too, wish I had knit more for Offspring when she was little.

  3. 3 Virginia May 17, 2010 at 11:12 am

    CUTE! Love the pink and sparkly buttons.

    Yep, uber girly pink yarn seems to do the trick in my household too. I’ll be knitting my girl a whispy by Hannah Fettig soon out of the pinkest yarn EVER.


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 340,292 hits

