FO: Crochet Scarf

Question: What takes twice as long to block as it does to make?

Answer: a crochet scarf knit in chunky yarn blocking in a week of ‘Naki rainy weather.

Yep. I’ve been crocheting. Silly me thought it would be a fast solution to provide a present for a sister whose birthday was sadly neglected. By me that is. Everyone else sent gifts. Oops.

The yarn? The gorgeous Rowan Colourscape Chunky. I used just over a skein of this yarn. If the scarf were shorter, I would have used just one skein. More on that in a minute.

The hook? I have a great selection of crochet hooks in smaller sizes, but my largest hook fell well short of the recommended M (9mm) hook, so I decided to use the biggest hook I had and to do a longer initial chain so that the scarf was still a decent length. I took a guess at how long to make it, and can’t quite remember how long that was now. But it looks good folded in half and threaded through itself like so…

The pattern? The Self-Designing Scarf , a free pattern/recipe that I found on Ravelry.  I was stoked to see the pattern as it really makes the best of the striping that is a feature of this yarn, and in fact is written for this yarn. There are some lovely FOs on Ravelry in some beautiful colourways, and I think it would look stunning in Noro or Cleckheaton Vintage Hues too.

The crocheting of this took a weekend, and it was a pleasure – simple and such quick results. It did, however, take an age to block – winter is starting to make its presence felt here, and sunshine hours are getting fewer and fewer.  It did need a decent wet block though. In my inexperience, my initial crochet chain was not loose enough and the blocking allowed me to stretch that edge out more to even it up. 

It was nice to switch to crochet for a project, and Dh mentioned today that he needed a scarf, so I might be picking up a crochet hook again in the not so distant future. But for now it’s back to knitting around and around and around.

4 Responses to “FO: Crochet Scarf”


  1. 1 topperarnold May 30, 2010 at 2:14 am

    It looks lovely! My sister’s birthday was in March and I’ll be mailing her gift today.

  2. 2 Renee May 30, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Awesome scarf!! love the colours 🙂

  3. 3 Kath May 31, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Hehe had to come check out your blog 😉

    Love the scarf!!!

  4. 4 Alexandra June 1, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Very pretty! I love the colors!


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

