Snap!

I am in love. Sooo in love. Sometimes when you knit something you manage to get the pattern and yarn combo just right. I think that I managed it with this project. I teamed the gorgeous Madelinetosh Vintage yarn in Baltic with the stunning Snapdragon Tam pattern by the ever clever Ysolda. And, snap! A winning combination.

This is no easy knit. In fact I might go so far as to say it’s a pattern for at least an intermediate or experienced knitter. Nothing is difficult, just that it’s an intense knit, with travelling stitches, cables and increases and decreasing happening in practically every row once the ribbing is done. The result is a densely knit hat that will be cosy and warm. The work shows too – you can see lots happening in this hat and I think it looks like an impressive knit.  It is a well balanced, well designed pattern.

Like the previous beret pattern I knit by Ysolda, this is an incredibly well written pattern. It is an easy to follow pattern.  There is a choice between written and charted instructions. I used the written instructions, and it was simple to follow. It is the kind of pattern that is logical and you can see instantly if you have gone wrong and spot the mistake and it’s fix immediately.  Add to that the fact that it is beautifully presented and you get a huge recommendation from me. I bought the pattern as part of the book Whimsical Little Knits 2, which is available in both hard copy and as an e-book. Mine is an electronic copy, and I love several more of the patterns. There is a pair of mittens to match this hat, although I don’t intend knitting them – I’m more of a fingerless gloves kinda girl.

I used just over one skein of yarn to knit this. I knit the middle size in the pattern, and it is too big – so I should really have knit the smaller size. I threaded some shirring elastic through the ribbing and it has made the fit perfect. But it was a good reminder that I should remember to measure rather than guess in the future!

So, what more can I say than  if you grab yourself this pattern then you’ve got the perfect excuse buy this stunning yarn. 🙂

9 Responses to “Snap!”


  1. 1 Jane June 5, 2010 at 1:07 am

    It looks gorgeous! I have Whimsical Knits 2, also because I knit Damson but I haven’t ventured any more.

  2. 2 Caffeine Girl June 5, 2010 at 2:12 am

    That is a beautiful hat. I so appreciate your rating of the difficulty. I don’t think I’m ready for that one yet!

  3. 3 Heather June 5, 2010 at 4:46 am

    The beret is so lovely. You did a great job on on the knitting as well as photos. Gorgeous!

  4. 4 Renee June 5, 2010 at 10:25 am

    It’s stunning!!! Love the colour it suits you

  5. 5 Hannah June 5, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    wow it really is lovely!!!!!!!
    i have knit 4 of the patterns fomr whimsical knits two but have bought them one at a time which i am kicking myself about now haha

  6. 6 Kath June 5, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Gorgeous!! Looking at your the beautiful hats you’ve knit (not to mention designed) makes me more of a hat lover 😉

  7. 7 Julia aka j-j June 5, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I know exactly what you mean Kath – I’ve decided I really need a hat this winter – but not a beanie style like I would normally opt for, but something slouchy and beret-like. Beautiful again Sheryl

  8. 8 Sara June 6, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Just perfect! Makes me wish I could wear hats without looking horrible.

  9. 9 Sam June 6, 2010 at 11:12 am

    phew!! … when i read snap i first thought a needle! … lovely knit looks stunning


Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,293 hits

