FO: Branigan Shawlette (2)

 

I had the pleasure of gifting this beautiful shawlette this morning. A work colleague is going through a really tough time at the moment and it seems like there is very little one can do to support her beside being supportive and available when I can be.  I also thought that a little something she could wear might remind her of the support that she has and might give her a bit of strength when it is needed. Imagine my delight this morning when I found her wearing black head to toe this morning – the perfect outfit for an accessory like this!

The pattern I chose was the Branigan Shawl. For a couple of reasons though (time being the biggest though to be honest) I didn’t want to work a full sized shawl – something to drape around the neck seemed the best idea. So I adapted the pattern – it has three different sizes on the pattern. I worked the stockingette portion for the medium size, and then did just one repeat of chart A, and then straight on to the edging, leaving out the three repeats of chart  altogether. This made the lace portion much smaller and the shawl more compact.

I realised that the lace would get slightly covered up by the semi solid variegations in the yarn, and I’m glad I didn’t work masses of lace for it all to be a bit obliterated! 

The yarn that I chose was from stash. It is a gorgeous colourway called Gothic Rose from Vintage Purls – it is her lovely sock yarn base, which is sooo soft for shawls.  The picture below is a good representation of the colour.

Everything from almost black through pinks and plums. Gorgeous! I believe this is one of Morag’s old standard colourways and it’s therefore repeatable. I almost hated to knit it up and give it away – it’s been gracing my stash for some time now. But I really wanted a strong colourway for this shawl, for the strong woman who will wear it. In fact, she currently *is* wearing it.

I just knew I would knit this pattern again when I knit it last time, and I am glad that I did. I loved the pattern just as much this time, although I do think it looks better in a more solid yarn. But I do enjoy a sensible, easy to follow lace pattern, and this fit the criteria perfectly. So if you are thinking of knitting a shawl – or if you want to cheat and do a shawlette like me, you should check out this lovely pattern.

PS: Julia, yep, I take most of my own pictures. Lots of trial and error, really long arms (or a good stretch) and a very simple to operate camera. I roped in Mr 12 to take the back shot though 🙂

5 Responses to “FO: Branigan Shawlette (2)”


  1. 1 Hannah June 8, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Sheryl that looks Beautiful!!!!!
    You are a knitting MACHINE at the moment! hahaha
    pefect PERFECT yarn too

  2. 2 Sharonnz June 8, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    You lovely thing you! Perhaps I need to have a hard time around you;-) Gorgy colourway on YOU too!

  3. 4 Kath June 8, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    What a lovely gesture and gift for your friend. I hope she draws on her inner strength when wearing it

  4. 5 Virginia June 9, 2010 at 11:33 am

    That’s a gorgeous little shawlette. Love it!

    The colors on that yarn are really gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,291 hits

