More Magic

I got a delightful, and rather unexpected, package in the post on Friday. A magic yarn ball!  I signed up for swap a few weeks ago, and they don’t have to be sent for nearly a month, but my swapper clearly lives on a far more organised planet than I do!   I nearly told myself not to open it until I  have mine ready. That idea lasted ohhh, maybe 2o seconds? I’m strong on will power, eh!!

The concept of a magic yarn ball is simple – wrap small gifts up inside a ball of yarn for the recipient to find as they knit up the yarn. Clearly you can see this concepts runs into a little trouble when you try itwith 4 ply yarn. I can seeeeeee the goodies inside! I spy chocolate, a notebook, some ribbon, a pen, some buttons, and other treasures too. And it smells so gooooood! There has to be some lavender hidden away in there somewhere. The whole parcel smelled divine when I opened it.

You don’t have to have a theme for a yarn ball – but my swapper clearly knows my tastes – this ball oozes purpley goodness! And the yarn, oh, the yarn! Stunning purples courtesy of Knitsch – the colourway is Beauregard. Just gorgeous! This is lovely stuff – 100% NZ merino sock yarn. Divine semi solid colourway, mmmm. I am planning and wondering what I should knit with it already.  I am totally pumped for Knitsch too, their sock yarn is now being stocked by the Nationwide chain of knitting stores. And our local has them prominently displayed on and behind the counter too. Great work Tash!!

Back to the magic yarn ball though – I need to start planning mine now, so watch this space for some creativity 🙂

6 Responses to “More Magic”


  1. 1 sarah June 23, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Gorgeous wool! Can’t wait to see what you knit with it, and waht you “find” inside the ball.
    Sarah

  2. 2 neak June 23, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    WOWSERS! I had better get a wriggle on with mine lol

    can’t wait to see what you unwind 🙂

  3. 3 Anne June 23, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Sheryl it’s beautiful!
    I don’t know if I’d have the patience though to wait until I’d knit it all to take out the things I could see (especially the chocolate!)
    Colours are beautiful as well. Lucky you!

  4. 4 Heather June 24, 2010 at 1:26 am

    I’ve always wondered about these magic ball swaps, I just couldn’t visualize what it would look like.I’m glad you got a good swap partner.

  5. 5 Virginia June 24, 2010 at 2:40 am

    That’s a really awesome idea! And lucky you. 🙂

  6. 6 Hannah June 26, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    veyr very very cool!


Leave a Reply

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 340,291 hits

