Confession Time

So, I’ve been doing fairly well with the not buying yarn thing this year. Better than even I expected I must say. This has not, however, been the case over the last few weeks. In fact I have had quite a number of deliveries arrive over the last few weeks – but in my defence they were from different sources, some ordered some time ago.

Before the yarn started arriving in my letter box, I caved in to temptation and went to the Knitworld sale. The catalogue arrived in my mail box like clockwork (the only thing that the previous owner failed to get redirected and I confess temptation over the years has got to me and I just open her copy.) Nothing very exciting, so I didn’t rush in. But when I did make it in, I couldn’t walk away without a pack of this  Cleckheaton Country 12 ply yarn. It was only available in this colourway, and while it’s not overly exciting, I think it will make a lovely Shalom. I wear the one I have already quite a bit, and it was a very quick knit that I find versatile so another one for $30 seems a bargain.

Next to arrive was  long delayed order from WEBS. I ordered this thinking it would be here in time for my birthday in May but the Madelinetosh Vintage colour I ordered went out of stock before my order was packed. I am super glad I waited though, the Betty Drapers Blues is a gorgeous colour and I’ve earmarked it for Miss 2 who I think will look stunning it with her blue eyes.  The other Vintage colour I bought was Dahlia, a very pretty deep pink. And one last treat – a skein of Madelinetosh sock yarn.

 

Also included in the parcel were two skeins of Malabrigo Silky Wool, I’ve temporarily forgotten the name of the colourway. These are by way of a present from my parents, and I will make a scarf from myself from them .

And some more practical yarn – some Arucania Aran weight yarn, their ‘solid’ colours which have been deleted, two each of pink colours for the girls, and a blue for my stash.

A co-op order of 100Pure Wool 3 ply worsted yarn arrived just after this – more for the girls. Quebracho and Happy Rose, and Izcua. I also got one undyed skein. Beautiful!

And last but not least, some sock yarn from closer to home. Gorgeous Vintage Purls sock yarn – I even bought two skeins of one colour thinking I might find it easier to gift if I had two skeins of one colour.

So, I have conclusively proven that temptation is much harder to resist in the winter when its cold!  But at least I know my girls and I will be all rugged up in our woollens against the cold.

And as a little aside, this post was written a week ago but we ran away for an internet-less holiday before I had a chance to add the pictures and post it. Have made some knitting progress, and even had a chance to knit with some of the yarn pictured above.  More from me once we head home.

5 Responses to “Confession Time”


  1. 1 Fiona July 10, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I know well the temptation of buying…. I too have been worse in the second half year, but I am still overall doing better than normal I think. I have been buying more jumper lots and less silly one off sock wool, so I think that is a positive.

    Have fun dyeing the purewool. I didn’t like the handle of my 3ply at all after dyeing and overdyeing, but I admit to being a convert after knitting it up! SO SQUISHY!!!!

  2. 2 thea July 11, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Looks great! I’m a big fan of that Arcaunia myself – although I think there are a few things in your haul that look gorgeous and squishy…. perhaps a few more hat designs in the wings?

    (haven’t forgotten about your hat design, btw, but must wait for cooler weather to chat it up!)

  3. 3 Caffeine Girl July 11, 2010 at 8:56 am

    You have wonderful taste!

    Have a great vacation and show us the knitting when you’re back!

  4. 4 hannah July 12, 2010 at 11:25 am

    GORGEOUS WOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And i got the flying dutschman and tatiana too hehe

  5. 5 sarah July 13, 2010 at 9:52 am

    ooooh, what a lot of gorgeous wool! You’ve got me itching to shop….


Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 341,055 hits

