Cosy Cushions

Sometimes you get a gift so good you just have to have more. I got a gift like that for my birthday from my sister.  A gorgeous appliqued cushion cover made from a recycled blanket and quiliting fabrics. Look!

Our cushions were desperately in need of updating, and I asked my sister if she minded me copying her idea. She enabled me (good girl!) by giving me her leftover ‘trunk’ fabric. I wanted to use up some scraps for the ‘leaves’, and I was able to use fabric scraps of Amy Butler I’d been saving for an occasion like this, and some from some Sandi Henderson fabric as well. In fact if you’ve been reading my blog for a while they will likely be rather familiar. 

In fact it wasn’t just the applique fabrics that came from stash – everything from the thread and interfacing through to the woollen blanket came from stash. The cushion my sister gave me closes with a zip, however, I didn’t have any of these stashed. And of course I soooo love sewing in zips too.  Or not! I do have a snap press, and a massive stash of snaps, so I made envelope backs with snap closures.

Because they are made from woollen blankets, these are seriously cosy cushions. They seem to attract children…

The only potential problem is that that my son appears to have left one upside down on the sofa. I think I’ll become one of those people who have to straighten the cushions before I got to bed.

8 Responses to “Cosy Cushions”


  1. 1 Kylie July 16, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    I Love them. I was wondering what your latest sewing project was – glad I didn’t have to wait long to find out.

  2. 2 Anne July 17, 2010 at 1:06 am

    Seriously, they’re amazing!
    I love them. Speechless. Well done.

  3. 3 Judy July 17, 2010 at 5:07 am

    So cute, and somewhat familiar from my own birthday gift. I see a theme, D! I loved the coziness of ours in winter too, but can tell you that you’ll probably need a summer set of covers for when it gets warm!

  4. 4 hannah July 17, 2010 at 8:53 am

    wow awsome work sheryl!

  5. 6 Heather July 17, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Oh my i absolutely love your pillows. your sister hit a winner with this idea. would you mind if maybe i make one for our home? you know in my free time?

  6. 7 nova July 19, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    omg love love love!! and so snuggly looking!

  7. 8 Delwyn July 21, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Wow that was fast – and so many! You really did like it then…


Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 340,293 hits

