FO: Blackrose Socks

It seems like forever since I’ve knit myself a pair of socks. Probably because I have a whole wardrobe of them already and my cosy toes have made me complacent about knitting more. However I cast on for these socks some 3 or so weeks ago, knowing that they would make a good companion knit for my cardigan project.  Seamless adult garments tend to get unweildy rather quickly and since I love to knit in the car, I like to have something suitable for such occassions.  Thus the Blackrose Socks.

I chose this pattern for several reasons – it is free (a Knitty pattern), cute, and easy. A couple of the ladies in my local knitting group have made themselves pairs and enjoyed knitting them, so I thought it would nice to follow suit.  And it was – this is a lovely pattern to knit. It has four sizes to chose from, and I knit the second size (64 stitch) size which is a good fit. I matched them with this dramatic dark blue semisolid yarn which really brings out the lace pattern.  The yarn is Patyonyle sock yarn that I recieved in the latest Naki yarn swap, hand dyed by my lovely friend. She had hand wound it, and there it sat, hopefully awaiting being knit up, helpfully ready for the occasion. And thus it was chosen. 

The socks have an offset lace panel, and there is a companion pattern for wristlets which features the same panel. I have 35 grams of yarn left after knitting the socks, so I might whip up a pair sometime. Although there never is a better time than when the weather is cold.

I’m back off to work next week, and I thought that these would make good sensible socks to wear underneath work trousers. I’m wearing them today but you really can’t see them under my gorgeous new Doc Marten boots.

 

Summary:
Pattern: Blackrose Socks – a free pattern from Knitty.com

Yarn: Hand dyed Patonyle Sock Yarn (80%wool, 20% nylon) 65g

Time Taken: 3 weeks off and on in the car and when I felt like it

Difficulty: Not the easiest lace pattern in the world to memorise – I was actually still relying on reading the pattern rows off the pattern when I finished knitting.  These are top down socks so you’ll need to be able to graft the toes, but other than that it’s a very simple lace pattern with yo’s, ssk, k2togs and so on.  I love the way this really pops when you wear the socks though  – simple but dramatic.

Would I knit this pattern again? Yes, definitely – always a good recommendation.

6 Responses to “FO: Blackrose Socks”


  1. 1 Heather July 18, 2010 at 2:00 am

    Free and good reviews are some of the best reasons to make a pair of socks and those are one beautiful pair. Also kinda in love with your Doc Martins, they look great!

  2. 2 Sara July 18, 2010 at 4:15 am

    They look great! I’ve had them in my queue forever and I really should get around to making them.

  3. 3 Sharonnz July 18, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Ooooh…are your boots the high heel ones!?!?

    LOVE the socks – that IS a cute pattern.

  4. 4 hannah July 18, 2010 at 10:17 am

    that was the PERFECT pattern for that yarn, they look gorgeous

  5. 5 Rachelle Crosbie July 18, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Love the socks Sheryl, I’m in the middle of a pair of socks myself so can’t cast those on, but I think they might be about to join my queue!

  6. 6 Caffeine Girl July 19, 2010 at 12:14 am

    I love the socks. The offset lace is really pretty. I’m going to have to queue them!


Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 340,261 hits

